Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 7–Blog Tour Day #5

I’m a bit behind.  Actually Blog Tour Day #5 was Friday, May 3rd.  Unfortunately, I have not been able to blog for a while.  In January I fell and tore my left rotator cuff.  After trying other methods, we determined it would not heal without surgery. Sad smile

On Thursday, May 2nd, I had surgery to repair my shoulder.  This has left me less than comfortable to say the least!  I’ve been told my recovery will take some time and I’m not sure when I will be able to return to my sewing room.

So, today I will finish my series of posts about my Block Testing for Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Vol. #7.

Vol7-100Blocks-Cover

 

Click here or on the cover’s image to be directed to Quiltmaker’s Blog Tour post for May 3rd.

The Blog Tour included 60 designers and highlighted several other of the 100 blocks, but you’ve not seen them all. You will need to pick up a copy to finish seeing the rest of the blocks. 

Today’s Friday, May 3rd Featured Designers

My Tested Blocks:

I tested blocks by three of the Designers Featured on Day #5 of the Blog Tour.

Bonnie Hunter – Block #670 –  Jelly Bean Blast (Pieced)

Click Bonnie Hunter - to read Bonnie’s Blog Post about her Block.

Here is my version of her block -

Barbara H. Cline – Block #655 – Diamond Chain (Pieced, Templates)

Barbara’s block is hiding in this picture.  It is one that creates an entirely different image when several blocks are used together.  Check out my version and see if you can find her block in this quilt. Click on the picture to see her Blog Post with the Block pointed out. Hint:  It takes 4 blocks put together to create the star!

My block is using different colors that she used.  I will be making this again, probably making a wall hanging.  It uses a Y-seam and templates for the diamonds – something I need to practice!

MEF-BarbaraCline-DiamondChain

Mary Sanderson – Block #643 – Deep Blue Sea (Pieced & Appliqué)

She also has a quilt included in Vol. 7 using her block!  Her block is on Page 43 and her quilt is on page 12.

Here is the block I made using Mary’s pattern.

MEF-MarySanderson-DeepBlueSea

I added a second fish – I thought he looked lonely!

This was a fun experience and I did learn a lot!  Guess what?  I’m Block Testing for Vol. #8!  Watch for the Blog Tour in the Fall!  That is assuming my shoulder recovery permits – We’ve already tested 5 blocks!  I’m hoping that my shoulder rehab allows me to complete the remaining blocks.

About Mary Ellen Futch

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in QM 100 Blocks, Quilting, Quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me

