Make-A-Quilt Weekend

Saturday, Day #1 of Make-A-Quilt Weekend – Part #2
 
Busy Afternoon – Sewing
 
Step #3 – Using the Pattern stitch together the blocks alternating fabric and make 5 rows of 12 blocks each.

Stopped for dinner and to do some design calculations.  Once I add the sashing strips this section will be approximately 42" x 58" and I don’t think it will be big enough.  So I am thinking of adding a small ‘inner’ border (1") of a complementary color and a larger ‘outer’ border of a darker color, maybe solid navy (5-6").  this will make the top approximately 54" x 72" – not quite a twin bed size, but a bit larger than a lap-quilt.

Next, I have to decide how I will finish the quilt – not sure I want it too heavy, and would like it not to slip.  So I am thinking about using flannel as the backing (fleece may be too heavy).  Flannel should help keep it from slipping and give it a feel of warmth.  Next, I need to decide if I want to use batting or keep it light and just have the two layers (top and flannel).  Decisions, Decisions!

I think I’ve decided to layer the pieces and finish it off with binding – that makes it look more ‘finished.’  I will probably use the same fabric to bind it as is used for the larger, outer border.

 
About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

