Make-A-Quilt Weekend

Sunday, Day #2 of Make-A-Quilt Weekend – Part #3
 
I got this finished late last night so waited until this morning to take pictures.  I made some changes from (1) the pattern, and (2) what I originally thought I’d do.
 
One change, was the pattern called for 11 blocks per row and I did 12 which created a width of 42-1/2" (1/2" will be used in future seams, so the "finished" width of what I’ve made so far is 42").
 
Another change, was the pattern called for 5 rows of blocks separated by 4 strips of sashing — I did 6 rows with 5 sashings.  This created a length of 70" (minus 1/2" seam allowance, the "finished" length will be 69-1/2").
 
So, the pattern was designed to finish at 39"x58", and my top (so far) is 42" x 69-1/2".
 

I have decided to back it with flannel (to keep it from slipping and add warmth), and I will probably fill it with thin batting for warmth.  I am still deciding about borders.  If I add a 5" border top/bottom/sides, it will make the finished size to be 52"x79".  I need to pick a color to complement it – am thinking a dark blue?  Maybe a dark blue ‘piping’ with a medium blue border?  I will bind it with the fabric I will use for the border.

So I will do some calculating today.  I will need to go shopping for the backing flannel and border fabric.  So Make-A-Quilt Weekend has been recessed until next weekend.

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

