Make-A-Quilt Weekend

Monday, Day #3 of Make-A-Quilt Weekend – Part #4
 
After checking with some friends and looking at the quilt top, we decided that it needed to be modified.  It needed less length and more width.  So I removed the bottom row of blocks, cut the last sashing in half.  I took half the sashing and stitched to the top.  I took the blocks from the bottom row I removed and added to the side.
 
Now the quilt top is 13 blocks wide and 5 rows + 4 sashings long.  The top now is 45.5" wide and 62" long.  I plan to add a 5" border all around.  This will make the completed Quilt Top 55" x 72" (twin size mattress is 39" x 74").  So this will be larger than a lap quilt (52"x78") but a smidgen smaller than a twin (64"x86").
 
Next Step – Purchase fabric for Borders, Flannel for backing & Batting – Will do on Wednesday so the Make-A-Quilt Weekend can continue next week.
 
About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

