Make-A-Quilt Weekend #2

Friday, Day #4 of Make-A-Quilt Weekend – Part #5
 
Wednesday I took the "scenic" route home from Preschool and went to WebFabrics in Purcellville, VA.  OK, it wasn’t exactly ‘on-my-way-home,’ but it was a nice drive!. I came home across White’s Ferry in Dickerson, MD, and stopped at Lewis Orchard’s Farm Market before heading home.
 
I picked up batting, Moda Marble Flannel for the backing, and some nice blue fabric for the borders.  I also picked up some blue marble fabric for another quilt top’s borders (but that’s another story!).
 
So, yesterday I cut the border fabric – 4 strips 5-1/2" x LOF (Length of Fabric), and 7 strips 2-1/2" x LOF for the binding.  Today, I measured/cut the side borders and stitched them on; then measured/cut the top & bottom borders and stitched them on.  The finished top is 56" x 72" (this will be a bit smaller when finished, because quilting tends to ‘pull-in’ the fabric a bit; but it will be close).  It looks nice.  I’ll get pictures in the morning.
 
I’ve got the Flannel in the Washing Machine.  One reason I went to WebFabrics was the quality of material they have, as well as the good selection.  I knew I could get cheaper flannel at Joann’s or Hancock’s, but the quality would not have been the same, and I’m sure I would have had to purchase more than I really needed because it would probably shrink alot.  I spoke with the owner of WebFabrics about the shrinkage — let’s face it, it IS flannel and will shrink!  She told me she wasn’t sure but she thought only about 1% — we’ll see.  I didn’t want to stitch it onto the back of the quilt and then everything shrink badly!
 
 
About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

