Happy Thanksgiving!

The day is coming to a close.  We celebrate our Thanksgiving Dinner in mid-afternoon.  This means getting up early & a busy morning, but it makes for a relaxing evening!  It also helps that K works retail and has to be AT work by 4 AM – so it is early to bed for her!
 
It was just the 3 of us.  But this morning we got a call from M’s sister & a little later talked with his mother. [She has good days and bad days – some days she is weaker than others.]  This afternoon we got a call from our son, S.  Via the Internet, I’ve sent T-day greetings to my siblings.  So, we’ve touched base with everyone!
 
This was a special Thanksgiving – today is also M’s Birthday.  We usually celebrate it on Thanksgiving, but this year they actually were the same day!
 
In the past, I’ve cooked a big bird and sides for a crowd.  It still is difficult to ‘down-size’ it, so I usually over do it!  And this year is no different – I won’t have to cook for days!!
 
I have recently ‘down-sized’ the whole bird to only a breast; and I cook that in my rectangular 6-quart slow cooker.  I’m glad it has a raised lid – it was full.  I filled the pot/breast with some carrots, celery, onions, and an apple; and I drizzled some lemon juice & generously added my Texas Rub Seasoning.  Cooking in the Slow Pot takes 3-4 hours on high, and frees up my oven for other activities.
 
Our meal was scheduled for 2 PM  — The Turkey Breast was in the Slow Pot by 7 AM.  I spent the rest of the morning cooking a German Chocolate Cake (Birthday Cake), baking a Pumpkin Pie & Dutch Apple Pie (ok, not from scratch – Mrs Smiths), making traditional side dishes (Green Bean Casserole & Candied Mashed Sweet Potatoes with mini marshmallows), and making a new dish – Autumn Casserole (Sliced Carrots w/Apple Slices seasoned with Orange Juice, Brown Sugar & Cinnamon – Yum!).  I’m not a gravy-making person, so we settle for a Jar of Homestyle Turkey Gravy, and I made a package of Stove Top for the Dressing.  [I have a recipe for Slow-Pot Sausage Dressing, which I will make to go with left-overs, but my Slow Pot was otherwise occupied this morning.]
 
By noon, we needed to nibble, but didn’t want anything to fill us up — so out came the cheese ball I made yesterday along with carrot & celery sticks, broccoli flowers, bell pepper strips & crackers, along with deviled eggs.
 
The cake & pies were done and cooling on the back porch, so all that was left to do was to bake the casseroles, cut the Turkey, brown the rolls & finish up the Stove Top & warm the Gravy.
 
So – TA DA!  Everything was done and ready by 1:45 PM – Using my good china, and setting out the buffet on a table in the Living Room, we were ready to eat.
 

So, with full tummies and all the left-overs safely stashed in the refrigerators, we settled down for an afternoon of football & napping.  Dessert comes later and probably some nibbling on left overs.

Happy Thanksgiving to All!

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

