Quilt Camp 2010 – Baby Quilt #1 – Random Tumbling Blocks

Top is Completed!  Finally took a break from the Preschool Audit to finish putting the borders on the Baby Quilt that I finished piecing at Quilt Camp a month ago.  I need to calculate yardage for the backing and purchase it before it is complete.
 
The kit was for one Baby Quilt, but it only had 3 color combinations which really didn’t give me enough colors.  So I purchased 2 more color combinations (light/medium/dark of each color).  This gave me an abundance of blocks – enough to make two Baby Quilts.  This is #1 — I used all the colors and created a random "pattern."  Baby Quilt #2 used 4 colors and created a cascading affect.  That one is not put together yet.  Will have to set aside a day to work on it.
 
Traditionally, the Tumbling Blocks requires stitching a "Y" seam.  This pattern uses strip piecing & cutting to create 1/2 blocks which are combined in vertical rows (or columns) which, when stitched all together, completes the tumbling block pattern.
 

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

