Quilting For Charity

Once a month on Friday, I use to meet with a number of other ladies and make Baby Quilts to be given to the clients of Mary’s Center in Washington, DC.  The Center provides Health & Wellness support to Women & Children.  Several times a year they have Group Baby Showers (Click link for some photos of a recent shower – looks like a quilt I made in the bottom/center picture) — Providing supplies and parenting instructions to expectant mothers.  Each mother is invited to pick a Baby Quilt of their choice from the quilts we make.  The next shower is in October.
 
G-Street Fabrics supports Quilting For Good by providing classroom space & machines for our monthly sewing.  Unfortunately, to better fit their schedule, G-Street has changed the day that the classroom is available from Friday to Tuesday.  This is not a good day for me and I haven’t been able to go for several months.  I spoke with the leader the other day and she told me the supply of quilts was low (there can be as many as 45+ expectant mothers at the shower).  I’m going to try and make a few quilts on my own

This is a pile of fabrics – I’ve washed & ironed 17 yards of fabric!  Now to get to Cutting & Stitching~~

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quilting For Charity

  1. Pingback: Quilts for Charity | Mary Ellen's Space

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

