Now I need to find a box big enough…

Quilting is Fun. Quilting is Creative. Quilting is a great way to share Hugs & Kisses.

I make Quilts for family & friends.  I also make quilts for Charity & the local NICU.  I think everybody enjoys getting something special just for them, especially if it is a one-of-a-kind, made-just-for-you sorta thing.  Quilts fit into this category.

So, here is my January 2011 Project. A little fellow who was born in August 2010 has been in & out of the hospital.  He sounds like just the person who needs some extra hugs & kisses.

I had a quilt top that I had begun and it needed assembly & quilting.  It is a smallish quilt – 24″ x 30″.  I figured this would be good when just a little quilt was needed.

Frisky Frogs

Quilt for Simon - Jan 2011

Then on our trip to visit Aiden in January, we stopped by School House Fabrics in Floyd. [A great place with 3 floors of fabric!]  So we picked up some cheerful fabric.  I’m still not too great in calculating fabric & estimating the finished size of a quilt.  It just kinda grows (and grows!).  The name of the fabric is “Peek-a-Zoo” so I named the quilt Peek-a-Zoo and it became 52″ x 60″ – a bit bigger than crib-size.

Peek-a-Zoo Quilt

January 2011 - Quilt made for Simon

Quilting can result in left over fabric, so I kept sewing….

Standard Pillowcase – Can also be used to store the Peek-a-Zoo Quilt when not in use.

Peek-a-Zoo Pillowcase

Standard Pillowcase - Matching Peek-a-Zoo Quilt

Then, additional left over Peek-a-Zoo fabric was made into a Travel-size Pillowcase.

Peek-a-Zoo Travel Pillow

Peek-a-Zoo Travel Pillow

Well, there is still left-over fabric, and I just kept making things.  Plus, I had a kit for a fabric A-B-C Book and some cute seahorse fabric that made into soft stuffie toys.

Toys

Soft Toys for Simon

So there is a bit more than two quilts to go into a box to be mailed.

Simon's Stash

January 2011 - Simon's Stash

Now, off to wash everything & check for pins, strings… and then find a box.  Planning to get it into the mail tomorrow!

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

