Singer Featherweight 221

Some people name their Featherweight sewing machines.  I suppose, if I would name mine, I would call it Beth.  After all, it belonged to M’s mother.  She got it for her birthday in 1951.  It’s ‘birthday’ was May 10, 1951 (along with 50,000 ‘siblings’) and was ‘born’ in Elizabethport, NY.  This one has the special Centennial Badge – in celebration of Singer’s 100th Anniversary.

Singer Featherweight 221-1 Centennial

The standard Featherweight 221 was, for many years, Singer’s top selling sewing machine.  It is often said that this machine is a favorite of many quilters today because of it’s portability.  There are many who also collect these machines. 

I used the machine a bit last spring, but felt it needed to be checked out. This past fall I took the Featherweight to the Sewing Machine Shop in PA to have it checked out, cleaned and oiled.  I now have pulled it out of its case and started stitching with it.  I have to get use to how it sews.  It is a very sturdy machine, but is definitely different from the computerized Bernina 630E that I’ve been sewing on for the past 3 years.

I had the Bernina set up for quilting, and I needed to do some plain stitching.  So I thought I would take this time to learn this machine.  I decided to use it to assemble a simple panel quilt – just a large cut of fabric with borders added.  This would give me some practice with the 1/4″ Seams without the problems that I would encounter if I were piecing blocks.

So, here is my Featherweight 221 along with a quilt top that I stitched using it — My 1-2-3 Quilt is 40″ x 45″.  It is just a Flimsy – a quilt top that has not been layered with batting & backing and quilted.

Featherweight 221 and Quilt 1-2-3

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Charity, Family, Quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

