Kid Quilts

Mostly I make baby/toddler quilts – they are smaller, quicker to make and easier to handle when machine quilting on my Bernina home sewing machine.

[For a number of reasons, cost and space are the two primary ones, I will only be quilting with my domestic sewing machine and not on a short-arm or long-arm quilting system.  With that decision made, I may be limited to doing only quilts smaller than a full or twin size – it is a wrestling match to shift & twist all that fabric/batting to quilt a large quilt with a home sewing machine.]

OK, back to Kid(-size) quilts.  I recently made a quilt for the grandson of a friend of our daughter.  His father is in the military and they have recently moved to Maryland.

I made this a panel quilt and pillow-cased it, so there wasn’t any piecing or binding to do.  I frequently use straight in-the-ditch stitching, or semi-straight stitching using a decorative stitch/making “X’s” from corner to corner through blocks. This quilt did not have blocks, so I couldn’t use my ‘normal’ quilting methods.

I’m beginning to be more creative with my quilting. This time I used my walking foot and did a bit of ‘free-hand’ quilting, just making a maze.  I did not mark the pattern. I did use the extension which helps indicate the width between the stitching line.

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me

