Guess I’m Ready

A couple of days ago we discovered, what I thought was a 5K (3 mile) walk is actually a 6.5K (4.4 mile) walk.  This is concerns me, as my knees & hips rebel against long walks and it has taken me the entire summer to condition my legs to walk 2.5 miles in our neighborhood.  I’ve been working hard to get built up to do what I thought would be a 3 mile walk.

So this week, I’ve had to really push myself.  Thursday I made it to 3.25 miles and my knee started slipping as I reached the 3 mile mark.  Friday, though I didn’t ‘officially’ walk, I attended my Quilting for Good group.  I didn’t personally get a lot of sewing done because we had so many newbies, I was available to help them.  So I was on my feet, walking the classrooms and the store from 10 am – 3 pm.

This morning, Zonya & I got out to walk, either the path I had mapped out or 2 hours or until my legs gave out – whichever happen 1st!  We normally walk a couple of loops in the neighborhood, but today we headed out to Sligo Parkway Trail.  Basically I chose to walk the 1-mile stretch round-trip and the half-mile stretch back toward the neighborhood.  Then I planned on walking a couple of loops in the neighborhood, which allowed me to have several options to cut it short, if necessary.

Two hours (& 1 minute) later, we got home.  We had walked the entire path I had planned, plus one extra short loop for a total of 4.4 miles (rough calculation).  And, just like Thursday, my knee started hurting me about the 3 mile mark.  I slowed down and limped the remaining distance.  I’m now sitting in the recliner, leg elevated, Aleve taken, ointment rubbed into the knee & knee brace on – but we walked 4.4 miles in 2 hours! [Zonya does not appear to be a bit tired!]

Tomorrow the weather is suppose to be much cooler – high in the mid-50’s, and cloudy with light showers.  The walk begins at 9 am, but registration starts at 8 am.  This means we have to leave the house about 5:30 am.

Thanks to those of you that have supported Kim & me with your donations.  Tomorrow we will be walking – Making Strides Against Breast Cancer – Southern Maryland – PAX River Navy Exchange Team

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Charity. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guess I’m Ready

  1. Karen says:

    Good luck, M.E.! I am so proud of you. I know you’ll do great tomorrow!

    Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

