Non-Sewing Day with a Pumpkin Theme

Today has been a non-sewing day, but I have been working on quilting – sorta.

I washed some fabric.  Remember, I discussed pre-washing fabric.  Well, that’s what I was doing.  Plus, I am testing a block and needed to pick 15 fabrics.  This actually was almost a full-day job all by itself.  I had to go through boxes, drawers & piles of fabric to find the colors & shades that will be needed. I still need some white-print fabrics, so I’ve called on my Thursday Quilt Group Ladies to bring in some scraps tomorrow and see if we can get enough to test the block this weekend.

Plus, some housework needed to be done.  To bad that gets in the way of sewing! Crying face

For dinner tonight, I thought I’d try something different.  Last week at the farmer’s market I picked up a pumpkin (a cooking pumpkin, not a jack-o-lantern pumpkin) and cooked it over the weekend.  I ended up with 4 cups of Pumpkin puree.

I was reading the Blog of a friend from SW Virginia – Confessions of a Home Ec Dropout and Karen recently posted a recipe for Pumpkin-Ricotta Stuffed Shells.  So today I made it, along with some Homemade Yeast Rolls and Homemade Pumpkin-Apple butter.

My pan was full with 24 shells, but had enough filling for 4 more.  Plus I cooked all the shells in the box, so I will have to figure out what to do with these leftovers.

I like making homemade yeast bread in my bread machine, but have been in the mood for rolls.  I found a recipe for Easy Yeast Rolls and made the dough in the bread machine and then rolled it into 24 balls.  I let the rolls rise in the microwave while the pasta shells were cooking.

Earlier in the day I simmered 1 cup of pumpkin puree with 1/2 cup apple cider 1/4 cup homemade applesauce, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 tsp ground Cinnamon, 1/8 tsp ground Nutmeg & 1/16 tsp ground Cloves. to make the Pumpkin Apple Butter.  I actually cut the recipe in fourth so I could find out if we liked it. It was good, but I may add a bit more spice next time as I like it spicy.

Everything was a huge success!  Only problem with the Yeast Rolls, they are so good that I eat to many!  Next time I will make a full recipe of the Pumpkin Apple Butter, but spice it up a bit.

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Quilting, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Non-Sewing Day with a Pumpkin Theme

  1. Karen says:

    Thanks for featuring my recipe. I think my family would like your Pumpkin Apple Butter. Maybe I’ll try it this weekend. By the way, I just stuff those 4 extra shells with filling right into the baking pan…

    Like

    • Quiltmouse says:

      I took the extra 4 stuffed shells the next day and layered some medium salsa in a small casserole, added the shells & sprinkled with some Mexican Shredded Cheese & cooked. The unused pasta shells were coated with the garlic butter dipping sauce from Papa John’s Pizza, stuffed with the remaining ricotta which I had mixed with seasoning and extra Parm Cheese & Shredded Co-Jack Cheese (I had a 32 oz container and didn’t use it all in the original recipe). I steamed some fresh broccoli and added to the shells in a small casserole and sprinked more shredded cheese and baked. All were Yummy!

      Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

