Busy Day in the Kitchen

Not exactly Hurricane Preparation, but Friday morning I started a batch of Greek Yogurt, and put a Turkey Breast in the Slow Pot.

My Turkey Breast – I spritzed the inside with EVO (Extra-Virgin Olive Oil), then sprinkled my Texas Rub. I adjust the Rub Recipe I found at Cooking Light website a bit, adding Poultry Seasoning, Sage and sometimes Italian Seasonings, as the mood leads me. Smile Then I stuffed the cavity with Onion & Apple Slices, & Celery Stalks. After putting the Breast into the Slow Pot, I repeated the process – EVO, Texas Rub, Celery, Onion & Apples. Finally, I added 1/2 cup Apple Cider to the pot, and set it on High. My slow pot has a variable setting from 1 to 5 so I set my Slow Pot on #5.

2010-10-26-SloPotTurkey-Start_thumb[1]

After about an hour on High, I switched the Slow Pot to 3-1/2 for another 4 hours.  It wasn’t quite dinner time, so I then turned it down to 2 to keep it warm until we were ready to cut it.

2012-10-26-SloPotTurkey-Cooked

You can see the ‘pop-up timer’ has popped, but I did check for doneness with my meat thermometer.  Doesn’t the rub give it a nice “browned” look? I think we will be eating Turkey for the next several days!

2012-10-26-SloPotTurkey-CuttinginProgress

I also made Yeast Rolls – but this was a different Recipe.  It was Awesome Bread Machine Yeast Rolls, but I also found the same recipe on the Betty Crocker Website. This recipe was less rich then the last one.  This one had water instead of milk.  There was only 1 egg in this recipe while the last one had 2 eggs.  And most importantly, this recipe had 2 Tbs of Butter but the other one had a whole stick of butter (8 Tbs).

 

2012-10-26-YeastRolls-Recipe2

Because there was less liquid (due to 1 less egg & less butter) today’s recipe said it would make 15 Rolls, but I got 17 Rolls.  The consensus was that both recipes were good, but the other recipe was better/richer – more ‘melt-in-your-mouth.’  (DUH!) As you can see by the picture above only 9 were left after dinner. Doesn’t look like anybody turned them away!

The Greek Yogurt is in the final stage – Draining.  After incubating the heated milk with the Yogurt Cultures all day it is actually yogurt.  But for it to become Greek Yogurt it must have some of the Whey drained.  I usually allow it to sit in the colander & cheesecloth for between 45 minutes to an hour.  My goal is to drain out 32 oz of Whey, which in turn gives me 32 oz of Greek Yogurt from 2 quarts of Milk.

2012-10-26-Yogurt-FinalStage

The Whey will be used to make Oatmeal for breakfast.  I haven’t found out exactly how you figure out what the nutritional value of homemade whey & Greek yogurt is, but they started from 1% milk.  Other than 2-3 Tbs of Greek Yogurt used as starter, this does not have any artificial or natural additives.  So 1/2 cup of Whey + 1/2 cup of Greek Yogurt is the nutritional equivalent of a glass of milk

So here is my evening snack – finishing up the previous Greek Yogurt along with some Sugar-Free Homemade Spiced Applesauce with a sprinkle of Cinnamon-Sugar on top,

2012-10-26-Yogurt-Applesauce-Snack

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Family, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Busy Day in the Kitchen

  1. Karen says:

    I wouldn’t mind being stuck in the house during a storm with that pan of rolls and some of that turkey… I just made cranberry sauce to go with it!

    Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

