Do You Do This?

2012-12-01-FeedDogs

 

Even Sewing requires a bit of “Housekeeping.”  Depending on the fabric I’m using, this is something I do after completing a project – Clean the Fuzz from the Feed Dogs.

This is what was found under my needle plate, surrounding my Feed Dogs after piecing the Chevron 3-Yard Bundle Quilt Top.  Before starting another 3-Yard Bundle, Half-Square Triangle Quilt Top, I thought I’d better do a bit of cleaning. 

I used a disposable mascara wand (about $2-3 for a package of 12 at a Beauty Supply Store) to pull out all of the fabric/thread lint.  Some people recommend using canned air (like used for computer or other electronics), but I feel that would push the lint farther into the guts of the sewing machine.

I changed the thread, (black, this time) and put in a new, full bobbin. I didn’t change the needle. I’ve read that it is recommended to change the needle after ‘every’ project, but what if your project was just a pillowcase or small bag? I usually aim to change my needle after 8-12 hours of stitching – that is active stitching on the machine, not including cutting & ironing time.

I straightened the table top and put pins & other tools back where they belong.  Now I’m ready to sew some more.DancingGeese-HST

On the agenda another 3-yard Bundle Quilt Top for Fabric Café – More Half-Square Triangle Blocks, but this will be another pattern.  This is a very versatile block.  Love the Combination of Black & Red!

I am multi-tasking my projects.  I have a Charity Quilt that needs to be completed and turned in at Webfabrics in Purcellville, VA. I have the top pieced, so am working on piecing the backing, pinning the quilt ‘sandwich’ (top + batting + backing) and then quilting it

!

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do You Do This?

  1. I personally don’t like to use “sewing” and “housekeeping” in the same sentence, but sometimes it has to be done, doesn’t it? Good reminder…

    Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

