Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 7–My Quilt

Vol7-100Blocks-Cover

 

I’m busy today doing some non-quilting activity.  I’d rather be quilting!  But I wanted to share with you something. The Block Testers were asked if we were interested in making a quilt for this issue. I answered yes!  There are 11 quilts that were made by Testers that were included.

The Assignment:  To make a Quilt that

  1. Used a minimum of three different blocks which we tested for Vol. 7;
  2. Had a minimum of 9 total blocks;
  3. Was made from fabric we were given which included the top and backing;
  4. Had a label & hanging sleeve;
  5. Was completed and sent to Quiltmaker’s headquarters in Golden, Colorado by the end of February;
  6. Would be photographed and included in Vol. 7;
  7. Would be displayed at their headquarters this summer.

My Quilt –

  1. Has 3 different blocks that I tested – I tried them out on my Design Wall (aka – Flannel Blanket hung outside my sewing room) 
    1. Block #639 – Fancy Free by Dodi Poulsen (made 6)
    2. Block #617 – Spinneret by Pat Harrison (made 2)
    3. Block #668 – Patch Charming by Sandy Harris (made 4)FancyTales-DesignWall
  2. Has a total of 12 blocks plus 3 borders which resulted in a 69” x 83” quilt.  I even mitered the 3 borders!                                                                                         MiteredCorners
  3. Was made with fabric by Quilting Treasures named “Monkey Around” Designed by Bethany Shackelford; TestedBlockQuilt-Fabric2012-10-31
  4. Has a Label (Sorry the picture is a bit fuzzy, but you get the idea);DSCN0867
  5. Was delivered on 2/28/2013.  The deadline was a challenge for me. I couldn’t begin to make the quilt until we had tested several blocks and I could pick out blocks to go with the fabric.  I started the quilt January 17th and finished it February 24th.
  6. Is pictured on page 90 (lower right corner) – I named it “Fancy Tales;” FancyTales-Page90-mef
  7. Along with the other quilts made for Vol. 7 will be on display from June 1st – August 31st, 2013.  I wish we were closer so we could go and see them!

Pic – Front & Back

 

 

 

 

 

 

 And, of course, what well dressed quilt would be complete without a matching Pillowcase! (Sorry, It needed ironing!)

Here is a picture of the Finished Quilt Top before adding the batting/backing & quilting it.  It is laid out on a Queen-size bed.

Finished Top on Queen-sized Bed

It was fun to make this quilt!

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in QM 100 Blocks, Quilting, Quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 7–My Quilt

  1. Love it! Congratulations on your participation in such a high-profile project. You’re gonna be famous (and should be…)

    Like

  2. Mary Ellen, Congrats on completing such an exciting project and getting your quilt in the magazine! That is awesome.

    Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

