Surgery + 5 Weeks

It has now been 5 weeks since my shoulder surgery.  I’m still not moving my arm very much and am in discomfort/pain most of the time.  The doctor says this is normal after a major surgery and once physical therapy starts next week, I can expect more pain. Crying face  Typing on the computer is allowed, but is very tiring.

Most of my ‘quilting’ has been looking at magazines & surfing the Internet.  We’ve moved my sewing machine to a folding table which places it lower than normal.  With it in this position I can sew for short periods of time.  Ironing small pieces of fabrics or blocks isn’t much of a problem.  The biggest stumbling block to me resuming quilting is using the rotary cutter/rulers to cut fabric.  This requires pressure and forward movement of my left arm, which is not possible at this time. 

I do have some wonderful quilty friends who have offered their services as my cutting surrogates.  With the help of these friends, I have been able to complete two more of the blocks I’m testing for the Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Vol. 8 which will be released in the fall.  I’ve got another one that I will be working on this weekend.

 

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Surgery + 5 Weeks

  1. The Teacher says:

    I am not precise enough to cut most of the pieces, but I do cut some . . .

    Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

