Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Volume #8 — Blog Tour Day #5

 

Today is the Last Day of the Blog Tour featuring Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 8 to be released November 19th.  But don’t despair.  I’ll post my final five tested blocks on Tuesday.

All this week the Quilty Pleasures Blog has invited us to a sneak-peak of some of the blocks.  Join us as we see so many fun blocks. Friend Quiltmaker Magazine on Facebook and you can see these and other blocks.

Each day the Blog Tour previews 3 pictures of Blocks and shares links to the Blogs of several of the Block Designers. 

Click on the Designers to visit their Blog to hear them tell about their Block & thoughts behind the design.  Many Blogs will give you a chance to comment and win a copy of Volume #8 or other great prizes.

Today’s Featured Designers:

Please follow the instructions on their posts to be entered in their giveaways.

My Tested Blocks

My group tested 13 of the 100 Blocks.  We randomly received patterns and didn’t know (and had no choice) as to which techniques we would be testing.  All Blocks finish to 12” square (12-1/2” unfinished).

Kay Mackenzie – Block #708 – Basket of Oranges (Applique)

This is a cheery block.  On her Blog, Kay shows some variations with different colors for the basket.

This was my very first block that I made after my shoulder surgery in May.  I used Steam-A-Seam2 Lite to trace the shapes.  I still wasn’t moving very well and I had the help of another quilter in preparing the the templates.  Thanks Mike!  Her help allowed me to get back to work a bit sooner.

MEF-KayMackenzie-BasketofOranges

Have you been enjoying the Blog Tour?  I hope you’ve taken the time to visit the various blogs and maybe picked one or two blocks you may want to make.

I’ve seen several that I did not test, but will make.  One is especially nice for this time of year, but I may not get it made in the next month.

This block is called “Shine a Little Light” by Sandy Fitzpatrick and is Block #740 on page 43.  I think this would make a very nice wall hanging to add to my Christmas Decorations.  Maybe for next year?

Another block I didn’t test but may have to make, just because of it’s name is “Arkansas Whirl” by Mickey Depre and is Block #719 on page 32.

This is a foundation piece block and looks fun.  Wonder how it would look making 4 blocks with borders for a wall hanging.  Love the colors.  Can anyone guess why the name of this is of interest to me??

Well, that finishes all the blocks that I tested that have been previewed or featured on the Blog Tour.  Join me next Tuesday, and I will post pictures of the final 5 blocks that I tested. 

Don’t forget, this issue will be available at quilt shops, news stands, and on the Internet directly from QuiltMaker this coming Tuesday.  Get a copy and get stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

