How to Keep the House Warm When the Temperature Drops to 5 (I don’t want to know the Wind Chill!)

Well, it looks like we’re getting some winter weather.  The temperature was 44°F late Monday afternoon, but it has rapidly fallen to 12° F at 11:30 pm.  With the Wind Chill, they say it feels like –9° F.  I’ll take their word for it, as I’m staying inside!!

2014-01-06 23.35.53

So, other than cranking up the furnace, how could I add heat to the house.  One thing comes to mind – Cook something!

I decided to prepare a breakfast casserole.  You know, one of those dishes you fix the night before and let it sit in the refrigerator overnight.  Then in the morning, all you have to do is take it out and let it sit while you preheat the oven.  OK, you see where I’m going – more heat!

This is one that I’ve done before.  It is called “Southwest Brunch Casserole” and you can find it on the Taste of Home website here.  It is fairly simple to prepare. 

As written, Taste of Home says it has 350 calories per serving.  With only 6 ingredients, there is not much you can do to cut the calories.  But I did what I did:

2014-01-07 09.23.05

Southwest Brunch Casserole – Lightened up

Ingredients
  • 4 teaspoons I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter Deliciously Simple
  • 2 Thomas’ Lite English Muffins, split (a savings of 15 calories/serving)
  • 1/2 pound bulk pork sausage (Sorry, I only had the ‘real thing’ but you could use only 1/4 pound to lighten)
  • 1 cup EggBeaters (a savings of 55 calories/serving)
  • 1/4 cup Homemade Greek Yogurt (a savings of about 25 calories/serving)
  • 1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

Directions:

Spray an oven-proof 8” square casserole.  Split the English Muffins and butter the cut sides.  Place in casserole, butter-side up.  Brown the sausage, drain & spoon into the English Muffins. Wisk together the EggBeaters & Homemade Greek Yogurt (Season with Salt & Pepper to taste, or a little Red Pepper to add some heat.)  Pour the Egg mixture over the Sausage topped English muffins and top with shredded cheese.  Cover with plastic wrap and put into the refrigerator overnight (or several hours).

In the morning, set the casserole on the counter for about 30 minutes to bring it to room temperature.  Preheat oven to 350°F.  Cook casserole for 25-35 minutes or until a knife inserted comes out clean. (See how it got poofy when it cooks.)  Let sit for 5 minutes before serving.

When serving, top with a spoonful of Mild or Medium Salsa.

With the changes I made there is a savings of 95 calories.  More calories could be saved by using only 1/4 pound of sausage or substituting turkey sausage, using a light margarine and using reduced fat cheese.

You could make some other changes such as adding onions & peppers sautéed after browning the sausage, or adding some jalapeño peppers if you like some spice.

(Adapted from Taste of Home Recipe)

Sitting on the counter while the oven preheats. 

2014-01-07 09.24.33

Serve with some fresh fruit. Top with some Salsa (I forgot that!)

2014-01-07 09.21.07

Enjoy!!

Stay warm!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Keep the House Warm When the Temperature Drops to 5 (I don’t want to know the Wind Chill!)

  1. Can I come do your house? It must smell heavenly there with all that cooking!

    Like

    • Quiltmouse says:

      I like winter because I don’t mind using the oven so much. When the house air gets dry, I like simmering a pot on the stove with orange peels, cinnamon sticks, whole cloves & allspice. OOOOOOOHHHHHH! that smells so good!

      Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

