Block of the Month Mystery–January 2014

 I’ve wanted to make a Red, White & Blue quilt for me.  This year will be the time to make the top. 

Quilters Newsletter is sponsoring a Block of the Month Mystery Quilt, Ooh-Rah, which was designed to support the Quilted in Honor program, benefiting Operation Homefront. 

The blocks will all be 12” (finished) and the Quilt will be 60-1/2” x 75”.  All of the block patterns will be from the first 12 issues of Quilters Newsletter.

Block #1 has been revealed.  It was originally printed in the first issue of Quilters Newsletter (1969) and was named Martha Washington Star Block.

I have gotten my fabric – three different dark blues, a light blue, a red and an ivory.

First Step – Iron & Fold the fabric

2014-01-07 12.44.46

Do you realize how hard it is to find 3 different dark blues?  I wasn’t sure if that meant 3 of the same darkness or slight variations. The light blue was my 2nd choice – I needed 2 yards, but the fabric I wanted didn’t have that much left on the bolt.

I have 3-1/2 weeks to make this block before Block #2 is released.

Happy Stitching!

 

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in BOM, Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

