A Quilt Along in Support of the Make A Wish Foundation

Moda Fabrics & the Fat Quarter Shop are sponsoring a Quilt Along in support of the Make A Wish Foundation.

You can see more information on the Fat Quarter Shop’s Blog – Wishes Quilt Along.  See the button on my Side-bar. This is similar to a Block of the Month (BOM) program, except we know what the quilt will look like at the beginning.

Each month, on the first, the pattern for another block will be released.  The quilt that is made by the Fat Quarter Shop to demonstrate the blocks will be auctioned off at the end of the program and 100% of the proceeds will be donated to the Make A Wish Foundation.

The participants are requested to make a Donation to the Wishes Quilt Along Donation Page for the use of each free pattern.  Moda Fabrics and and Fat Quarter Shop will match up to $10,000 of donations raised.

The first block was released on January 1st.  I ordered a kit from the Fat Quarter Shop so I will have the same quilt as the one they have made with the Wishes Collection by Sweetwater for Moda Fabrics.  The kit shipped last week and I finally got mine!

IMG_20140109_074845

I love their boxes. They are nice and sturdy and can be used to hold fabric as I’m working on the blocks.  This will come in handy since this Quilt Along will take 12 months.

I got both the Quit Along Wishes Kit and the Backing Fabric.

IMG_20140109_075235

So I have everything I need to complete this quilt except for the batting!

The kit for the top includes 22 fat quarters (right), plus background/border fabric (top, left) and fabric for the binding (bottom, left).

IMG_20140109_075359

This makes two BOM programs I am participating in this year.  I will post pictures of both blocks the end of the month.  I’ll try not to fall behind. Smile

 

 

Quilt Mouse

 

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in BOM, Charity, Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Quilt Along in Support of the Make A Wish Foundation

  1. It was fun seeing your beautiful block in person and I love the colors! What a great cause.

    Like

  2. The Teacher says:

    You are always SO organized . . . love you

    Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

