Where Are You Friday?

 

Where am I?  I’m sewing!  You say that’s not different than any other day.  Well, you may be right, but the location is different.

It’s Bright & Sunny, and 5 degrees warmer than home.  A friend of mine is attending a Basket Weaving Workshop.  We live far apart and don’t get to see each other much, so I joined her.  Except, I am sewing while she’s weaving. In the evenings we get to catch up and chat!

We’re on the 2nd floor and no elevator (go figure!).  When I checked in and expressed my concern, I was cheerfully told they had a maintenance man who would be glad to assist me.  Gene met me at my car and saw me pulling out my suitcase, then my sewing machine, then my sewing kit, then my project bag – oh, by the way, did I mention I travel with a folding table, TV tray and seat?  Yes, I told him, I’m ‘moving in!’

Once in the room I’ve set up my ‘mobile sewing studio.’  First is my Sewing Station:

SewingStation

This includes my Sewing Machine and lamp on the folding table – furniture in hotel rooms are too high for sewing. On the TV tray I have my thread and miscellaneous notions.

Next I set up my Cutting Station:

CuttingStation

Although I did a lot of cutting at home preparing projects for this long weekend, I will still need to do some cutting.  Included here is my Cutting Mat & Rotary Cutter, plus my Rulers on my new Ruler Rack (Thanks, R!) and of course, a scrap bin.

Finally, I set up my Ironing Station:

IroningStation

I have a nice size ironing mat and a cute little travel iron.  If I need more space, I’ll use the ironing board in the room, but this space should do quite well.  I brought my “Tailor’s Clapper” to help press any pesky seams.

So, I’m all set for some serious stitching!

 

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

