January 2014 Summary

This has been a busy month.

Weather has been a bit of a challenge.  Snow, Ice, Wind & Record Breaking low temperatures have definitely provided us with a dose of Winter.

Snow caused the Monthly Meeting of Quilting for Good on January 3rd to be cancelled. Guess we’ll have to make twice as many in February! Winking smile

Fabric Café – I pieced a top using the Awareness Pattern.  Once quilted and chenille added, this will be on display at their booth in a number of quilt shows.

AwarenessQuiltTop

Quiltmaker – This month I tested 4 blocks. I cannot show you what I worked on as these are blocks I’m testing for the Spring issue of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Volume 8.  I will share these in a couple of months.

? ? ? ?

This year, Quiltmaker Magazine has started a series on Machine Quilting on your Home Sewing Machine.  I’ve downloaded Lesson #1 and some of the exercises and hope to work on this skill and get more comfortable with machine quilting.

Fat Quarter Shop’s Wishes Quilt Along – Block #1 Flying Kite. This block was released on January 1st, but I had to wait until my kit arrived before making this.

Wishes-Block1-completed

Quilter’s Newsletter’s BOM – Ooh-Rah!! – Block #1 Martha Washington Star Block that was originally published in Issue #1 of Quilters Newsletter in 1969.

2014-01-QN-Ooh-Rah-Block1

My Thursday Hand-Quilting Group helped me to Sandwich and Baste a Quilt that I will be quilting on my Home Sewing Machine.  We missed a couple of times because of sickness or weather.

Travels – Mostly stayed home a lot because of the weather, but I did get to enjoy a long weekend in Newport News visiting with a friend and working on a number of quilt projects.

2014-01-18 11.31.54

We had beautiful weather for our trip, but I got home the day before some snow!

2014-01-21-Snow

Here’s hoping the Ground Hog doesn’t see his shadow, I think we’d like an early Spring!

Spring comes on Thursday, March 20th – 46 more days!

 

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in BOM, Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to January 2014 Summary

  1. Mary Ellen, Your quilts and blocks are beautiful!

    Like

  2. Hi,

    Just sent a blog comment and accidentally pushed the send button before putting a space between the last 2 words. Do you have a way to fix it?

    Camelia

    Like

  3. marly says:

    Nice top in green, white and red.

    Like

  4. Peg B says:

    Hi I’m Peg and I’m popping over from Lily quilts link up, your quilts are beautiful, i look forward to popping in again.

    Peg x

    Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

