Happy Ground Hog’s Day – 2014

Depending on which Ground Hog you ask, we will either have 6 more weeks of Winter or an Early Spring.  I vote for an Early Spring!!

Well, Punxsutawney Phil has predicted 6 more weeks of Winter and we’re currently under a Weather Alert/Winter Storm Watch and expecting 5” of snow tomorrow followed by a 2nd storm later this week.  So, looking on the Bright Side – 6 more weeks of Quilting!

Mrs. Bobbins is a funny quilting lady – see more of her on the Kansas City Star Quilts Blog.

Lynne who blogs at Lily’s Quilts is sponsoring two link ups this weekend.  The first one has invited bloggers to share what they worked on in January.  It is interesting to see what others are doing and I was happy to link up.  I invite you to go and check out these blogs.

The 2nd Link-up is open to bloggers who have less than 50 followers.  Take this opportunity to find someone new and see what is going on in their world.

I would like to welcome all the new viewers and followers who have found my blog through the Small Blog Meet & Fresh Sewing Day Link-ups.

One of the projects I’m currently working on is testing block patterns prior to their publication in a new issue of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks.  There are several groups of testers and each group gets 12-13 blocks to make and evaluate.  Unfortunately, I cannot show you the finished blocks until the magazine is published.

So here is a teaser for the block that I’m currently piecing.  Only 2 colors and I think you will like it.

2014-02-01-FabricCut-Block1a

I have recycled a packing foam board and am using alphabet beads which are pinned to the board.  After cutting the fabric I lay the cut pieces under the letter which corresponds to the instructions.  (See letters “B” and “C” – while they look the same, there is a difference.)  This helps keep me from being confused and using the wrong piece when I start stitching.

Here’s another teaser – more cut pieces. Today’s sewing project: 2 Blocks!

2014-02-01 Block2aCutFabric

 

Happy Stitching!

 

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Quilts, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Ground Hog’s Day – 2014

  1. Rachel says:

    Here from the small blog meet up! Great cartoon and great fabric choices!

    Like

  2. I didn’t notice your cute little pins! I like your optimistic outlook on winter.

    Like

  3. I’m here from the small blog meet. Those blocks look great and I love the alphabet pins!

    Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

