BOM Progress–Month #2

Have you ever done a Block of the Month?

Are you doing a Block of the Month this year?

Do you like it to be a Mystery or do you want to know what you are making?

As I mentioned last month, I’m doing two BOM’s.  One is a Mystery and one I know what it will look like. 

BOM #1 – Wishes Quilt Along, sponsored by Fat Quarter Quilt Shop and supporting the Make-A-Wish Foundation. (You don’t have to make the quilt to make a donation.  Donations up to $10,000 will be matched by the Fat Quarter Shop & Moda Fabrics!)

Wishes-Block2-completed

The name of this block is Double Windmill and is 14-1/2” unfinished size.

BOM #2 – Ooh-Rah sponsored by Quilter’s Newsletter.

I just downloaded the instructions for Block #2 this week.. This block was taken from Issue #2 of Quilter Newsletter/December 1969.  In that issue it was identified as The Colorado Quilt Block which came from a 1941 Kansas City Star pattern.

The cutting is done. Tomorrow the sewing. I’ll post a picture when I get it done.

Although, at this time, we do not know what this quilt will look like, it is interesting seeing the blocks which were included in the magazine in 1969.  I wasn’t quilting ‘back then,’  I wonder who saw this magazine and who made this block back then.  Quilters are connected through time.

If you’d like to join in, it isn’t too late.  Both quilts are being made with large blocks and they have been working up very nicely.  Leave a comment and let me know if you are working on either of these BOMs.  Send me a picture and I’ll post it on my Blog, if you’d like!!

Happy Stitching!

 

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in BOM, Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BOM Progress–Month #2

  1. The Teacher says:

    I would like this in a solid, or maybe Batiks, or Blenders. Just a thought.

    Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

