Quilting Tools

Through the years quilting tools have evolved.  We now have so many wonderful tools to help us in our creative activity.

Rotary Cutters

Rotary cutters were invented in 1979 by the Olfa Company and made fabric cutting more accurate and faster than using scissors.  And even faster, is the mechanical fabric cutter such as the Accuquilt Fabric Cutters.  These come in several sizes and use dies, cutting a variety of shapes through multiple layers with precision accuracy.

I have a few new tools. The first I got as a Christmas present from my brother-in-law.  A seam ripper necklace!

2013-12-25 14.12.54

The handle was made from the wood of an apple tree in their yard.  The seam ripper pulls out and stores in the handle and the wood handle attaches to the necklace with a magnet.

See his website – Fino’s Woodworks – for some of his other Quilt Tools: Seam Rippers, Pin Magnets, Magnetic Pin Bowls, Ruler Racks, Stilettos and more.  They make wonderful gifts!

2014-01-07 14.15.26

One of the items my brother-in-law makes is actually an old tool that has found a quilt-y use.  The Tailor’s Clapper was originally used many years ago to help set a sharp crease in men’s pants without scorching the fabric.

2-Binding-1stFold-Clapper

In quilting, the Clapper has a similar use.  It is used to help set seams or folds without burning the fabric.  Using the steam setting (although I frequently use a dry iron) press a fold or seam and then immediately use the Clapper to hold in the heat.  It works BEAUTIFULLY when pressing those pesky ‘bumps’ created by making pinwheels or other seam intersections with a lot of fabric.

Some tools come from the creativity of the quilter to use everyday items for not ordinary uses.  I recently saw a tip to use – a new/not previously used – toilet bowl brush to pick up stray threads from the floor!

Last, but not least, thanks to Moda Fabrics for this sweet “Tootsie Tool” with 10 uses —

 Do you have a favorite tool?  Do you have a Quilt-y use for a non-quilt tool? Leave a comment and share.

Happy Stitching!

 

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quilting Tools

  1. Freddie says:

    Very talented brother law. The wood looks lovely.

    Like

  2. I love my pressing sheet and ruler rack. I also use my magnetic wand for a non-quilting purpose: to pick up lids from boiling water when I’m canning. Works like a charm. One of my greatest space savers is to organize my fat quarters in an antique library card catalogue.

    Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

