Will This Winter Ever End?

Friday I was sitting and looking out my window, I’m seeing 12” plus of white stuff.  Sun was shining and there was some melting going on.

2014-02-14-Snow

Thursday there was some melting during the day, but that was followed by Freezing Rain/Sleet & about 3-4 more inches of snow.  You can see it is the heavy, wet, cling-to-everything kind of snow.

2014-02-13 19.22.14

I was browsing news articles from NBC News on the web, and this headline caught my attention – 49 of 50 States Have Snow as Drifts Pile Up. But what jumped out at me was the article referenced 27” of snow in Pilot, VA, where one of my friends live.  The article goes on to say that Florida was the only state without snow – Does that mean there was snow in Hawaii??  Interesting thought.

2013-12-08 13.51.00

The first snow of the season was 12/8/2013.  Although, technically, we had our first snow on a visit to Colorado in October.  This winter we’ve had a number of “snow events,” but so far this had been the most accumulation.  The news said tonight there have been some school districts that haven’t had a full week of school since December.

January 3rd we had snow, and then on January 21st we had snow.

IMG_20140121_031313

Are we seeing a trend here?  I really want to have an END to this weather. Spring comes March 20th – Can’t wait!!

The one good aspect of Snow Days – they are Sew Days!

Happy Stitching!

 

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Family, Yard-Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Will This Winter Ever End?

  1. KerryCan says:

    I’m in upstate New york so we can’t even count on spring by March 20, no matter what the calendar says! But, you’re right–when the weather is bad, I get a lot of sewing and ironing done!

    Like

    • Quiltmouse says:

      The only thing about snow/sew days is having to stop and shovel! We have lost power in the past, and so have a generator now. Of course, that means we’ve not lost electricity (yet) this year. Also, during these days I find myself in the kitchen doing more baking. Stay warm & keep sewing!

      Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

