Binding–Love It or Hate It? Part 1

Binding is the finishing touch which is added once a quilt has been quilted. OK, adding a label or hanging sleeve may also be needed, but those are other topics of discussion.

It is like washing dishes – something that has to be done, but has no glamor.  The piecing makes a pretty picture using shapes and colors while quilting can draw beautiful designs.  But binding is just something that keeps the edges together.

MugRug

Talk to quilters and eventually the topic comes to adding binding to their quilts. Bias or not, Economy, Single Fold, Double Fold, Diagonal vs. Straight joining, No binding (pillow-cased), Hand stitching vs. Machine stitching.

Donna Robertson has shared her method of Economy Binding on her blog, Fabric Fun 3-Yard Quilt Binding 101 (economy binding)

Economy Binding is standard for the 3-Yard Bundle Quilt Patterns available at Fabric Café.  This is a Single-Fold binding that uses less than 1/4 yard of fabric.

Cut the number of binding strips required for the quilt size 1-1/4 inches x WOF.  Sew the strips together with a straight seam.  

3Binding-2stFold-Finished

Fold in half wrong-sides together and iron.  Then iron one side in to meet the middle crease.

5Binding-Iron2ndFold

Hop on over and see her tutorial on how to complete the Economy Binding.

Next week I’ll share some more binding tutorials.

Happy Stitching!

 

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Binding–Love It or Hate It? Part 1

  1. Pingback: Binding–Love It or Hate It? Part 2 | QuiltMouse

  2. Binding is something that I sort of dread but enjoy after I get started. It’s so rewarding to finally finish a quilt and put the final touches on it. Sorry to say (no offense) that I do not prefer single fold binding method or economy binding method. I like the bias tube/double fold method. It’s much easier to fold it in half and stitch it on. I attach binding by machine then stitch it down by hand. I personally think the double fold method yields a nicer end result. BTW, I’m so happy to be able to be able to get to Fino’s Woodworks, with the click of a mouse, from your blog! He does awesome work and I love his products!

    Like

  3. KerryCan says:

    I really quite like putting binding on a quilt–it makes such a difference in the look and it means the quilt is done! It’s basting that I loathe . . .

    Like

    • Quiltmouse says:

      I agree, binding makes a quilt look finished. I will sometimes ‘pillowcase’ a baby/charity quilt especially when using a panel. I will often machine finish the binding on a quilt because it goes faster, and for a baby quilt that will be washed/used a lot, I think the machine stitching is a bit stronger. Basting isn’t fun except when we do it as a group and it gets done fast!

      Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

