Binding–Love It or Hate It? Part 2

In last week’s post – Binding – Love it or Hate It? Part 1 – I shared some information and a link to Fabric Café’s Blog about Economy Binding. This is a great technique that uses the least amount of fabric.

Binding-Handstitched (2)

See the beautiful hand stitched economy binding done by my friend, Donna Robertson at Fabric Café.

My Bindings:

I use straight (not bias) binding, cutting 2-1/4” strips using the Width of Fabric (WOF).  I measure the width & length of the quilt, multiply the sum by 2 and add 10-18”.  This gives me plenty of binding – I’d rather have more than needed then have to add some later.

Cut the number of strips to give at least the length needed.  For a baby quilt, which is approximately 40” by 50” this requires 5 strips or 15-18” of fabric.  After trimming the selvages, combine the strips using a diagonal seam to reduce bulk and add strength.  The seams are cut to 1/4 inch, then pressed to one side.

Double fold binding is just that – the strips are folded lengthwise, wrong-sides-together to create a double layer of fabric.  This also provides a finished, folded edge for the final stitching.

Binding-DoubleFold (2)

For Baby Quilts, I machine stitch the binding on both the front and the back.  I use my walking foot when sewing on binding.  Beginning on the back of the quilt, I match the raw edges of the binding with the raw edges of the quilt, and stitch using a 1/4 inch seam.  After sewing it on, I will press the binding away from the quilt setting the seam and helping to fold the binding toward the front.

Binding-ReadytoStitch-1 (2)

Binding-ReadytoStitch (2)

For the final step, the folded edge of the binding is lined up along the stitches from sewing the binding to the back.  Using one of the decorative stitches on my sewing machine, I sew the binding to the front of the quilt, being careful to miter the corners.

Binding-MachineStitched-Front (2)

Binding-MachineStitched (2)

Future posts will cover mitering the corners and combining the edges of the binding.

I have seen a number of posts lately about binding and here are two that I thought were interesting. Both of these Bloggers shared different binding techniques, but they each shared techniques of machine sewing the binding on.

Marti blogs at Aunt Marti’s 52 Quilts.  I recently read her Post entitled Tuesday Tutorial: Susie’s Magic Binding in which she shares her experience in completely machine sewing a binding – with a twist. The finished result is quite surprising and gives the quilt an added flair!

Picture from Aunt Marti's 52 Quilts Blog

Here’s her picture. I can’t wait until I have a quilt to bind!  I will definitely be trying this method and will share pictures when I do.

The second post is by a blogger named Lisa Yarost who blogs at – A Woman A Day. In her post entitled Happy Feet – Quilt Binding Edition, she shares a machine stitching trick. Using a machine pressure foot not usually associated with quilting – Lap Seam Foot #71 (Bernina) she demonstrates how a pressure foot helps with the fold & stitch of the binding. Other brands of machines may have a similar foot.  Check with your manufacturer to find the foot that matches your machine.  This foot is commonly used to sew two-step flat-felled seams on jeans.

Foot-71 (2)Foot-71-Bottom (2)

I bought this foot and will try this method of machine stitching a binding.  I do have one concern.  I usually use a walking foot when machine stitching a binding because of the thickness and bunching/shifting that can occur when using a regular foot.  Will have to see how this works out.

So, now you ‘love’ binding, right?

Happy Stitching!

 

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Tips, Tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Binding–Love It or Hate It? Part 2

  1. I wish I had read this before I bound my quilt …. might have saved me some aggravation … love the feather stitch to secure binding… been using that stitch on my baby – toddler quilts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hannlib says:

    I love binding. I love a finish and it’s the last step! I love to hand finish mine though.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. KerryCan says:

    I make my bindings as you describe, machine sewing the first edge and then hand sewing the second. It’s an approach that has always made me happy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Quiltmouse says:

      I hand sew some but for our charity baby quilts we want fast and figuring the washing & playing they will have we figure machine stitched may be a bit stronger. Happy Stitching!

      Like

  4. wombatquilts says:

    I find hand stitching my binding very soothing…time consuming but soothing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Quiltmouse says:

    Thanks! I really like using a decorative stitch. It is more ‘forgiving’ than straight-line stitching. If my ‘straight line’ is less than straight it is less noticeable when using a decorative stitch. Plus it gives a little added ‘flair!’

    Like

  6. davemelvanolan says:

    I do my bindings in a very similar way. But I love the decorative stitch tip!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

