Friday Finds–2/28/2014

I don’t know about you, but I love the Internet for finding Tips, Tutorials, Free Patterns and new Projects.  OK, I have plenty of projects going – Don’t Ask How Many, just trust me I have a lot!

Here are some interesting items I’ve found – I’ve not yet tried any of them, but am thinking about adding them to my To-Be-Done-One-Day List. If you try them before I do, please come back & leave a comment.

Free Patterns / Tutorials

Potholder Pattern/Tutorial by Jacquelynne Steves   – Looks like a nice way to use up some scraps and perk up my Kitchen.

image

Jacquelynne shares her instructions with lots of pictures (I love pictures!).  Her post includes a link to a PDF of her tutorial.

Log Cabin Pot Holder is offered by the American Quilter’s Society– Have you done Paper Piecing? With the straight lines, this looks like it would be a good project. 

image

TipRemember when printing out patterns for paper-piecing, set your Print function to “None” or “No Scaling” in order to get the correct size.

Click Here & Scroll down to find the link to Log Cabin Pot Holder.  While there, check out the 10 pages of free patterns available from AQS.

Construct a 6″ potholder like the ones made by Ricky Tims and shown in the April 2011 issue of The Quilt Life Magazine. This does not have instructions on actually making the pot holder, but gives the template for paper piecing a 6-inch square which you can use to make a pot holder or a wall hanging or even a quilt. Print it twice to make a two-sided Log Cabin potholder or print as many times as you like to make a quilt top of little Log Cabin blocks.

Camp or Road Trip Pillow shared by Stacy at She’s Kinda Crafty  A pillow 18” square and smaller only needs 3 fat quarters!

A pillow with a pocket to hold some books or whatever!  Isn’t that so cute!  I can think of a number of people that I know who would just love this – some of them are only “young-at-heart!”

Stuffed Boat Toys  by Irina of Sew and the City Blog.  This is a post she did in 2011.  I’ve got a new little neighbor boy – 4 months old Today! I think he’s getting just about old enough to play with one of these.

TipYou know all those scraps of fabric & batting you usually throw away because they are too small?  Use the bigger pieces to make these boats, and stuff them with all the smaller pieces.  I keep a plastic container and put all my ‘trash scraps’ in rather than throwing them away. Suggestion:  Cut longer strips smaller before using for stuffing.

Red Hot Flash – Free Pattern by Debby Kratovil

Bonnie Hunter Shared this Free Pattern from  Debby Kratovil  on her Facebook Page.  It is easier than it looks. Lots of strip piecing and HSTs.

RedHotFlash

Don’t you just love the two color theme?  And lookie – little pinwheels!  Can you picture this in Purples??

Hope you’ve found a new project or two.

Happy Stitching!

 

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Free Patterns, Friday Finds. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friday Finds–2/28/2014

  1. Love that red and white quilt, I am actually thinking pink for a little girl 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Quiltmouse says:

      Lately I’ve been attracted to quilts made with 2 colors. I do think there will be one on my to do list, but maybe not this year. Thanks for reading my blog. Happy Stitching!

      Like

  2. hannlib says:

    I love the internet too for inspiration. So much out there, you’ve found some lovely things

    Like

  3. KerryCan says:

    The idea of a “hot flash” quilt seems all too appropriate these days! That’s a great pattern!

    Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

