Friday Finds – 3/22/2014

There are just so many wonderful projects & patterns on the Internet.  My Friday Finds is one way that I can remember some that I discover and (hope) will one day find the time to make.

Here’s what I found this week.

Free Patterns:

The Fat Quarter Shop (Love this site!) shares “Sister’s Choice Quilt Pattern” in 4 sizes: Crib, Lap, Twin and Queen.  Don’t you love it when you have options?

Sister's Choice Quilt

I can see making this pattern in Reds & Greens with a Gold background for a Christmas Quilt.  How about doing it in only two colors – Purples and White?  There’s a video tutorial for the Sister’s Choice Quilt Block.

Not a Pattern (Yet):

So many people commented on this cute project that Janine of East Sussex, UK at Rainbow Hare Blog has come back to say she’s working on a pattern. 

Can you identify what it is? It is a sewing machine cover. Do you cover your sewing machine?  I’m in and out of my sewing room so much I don’t cover my machine, but I did make a cover for it. 

MachineCover2014

Not nearly as detailed or cute, but functional.  Just a scrap of decorator fabric with boxed corners.  OK, it’s not pretty, but it’s functional.

ConKerr Pillowcase Drive by Arrow Cabinets:

Can you imagine a Pediatric Hospital ward having 200 beds?  Now imagine every Child in every Bed having a bright, cheery, colorful pillowcase of their very own to lift their spirits during their stay.

The ConKerr Cancer Chapter has shared with Arrow Cabinets that they need pillowcases for their young patients, especially holiday themed fabrics.

I’ve got a couple started.

EasterPillowcases2014

See the full details on Arrow’s Blog – Deadline for receiving completed pillowcases: April 4th.  They are also sponsoring a give away of an Arrow Thread Caddy for those that submit two holiday-themed pillowcases (one of which must be Easter.)

Interesting Article:

Not a pattern or tutorial, but Kansas City Star Quilts’ Blog – Pickledish.com shares an interesting article entitled “Old Quilts Never Die.”  What do you do with an old quilt that has holes or torn spots?  Was it Great Grandmother’s wedding quilt and you just ‘can’t’ throw it away?  There are several suggestions in this article.

Misc

Some of the suggestions would also be good for an orphan block left over from testing a pattern or extra after you finished a quilt.

Hope you found these sites as interesting as I did.  Leave me a comment of what you thought.

Happy Quilting!

 

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Free Patterns, Friday Finds, Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday Finds – 3/22/2014

  1. msminnesota says:

    I love that little camper! At the November retreat I went to, a woman was making a felt pincushion in that same shape and I fell in love with it! (But haven’t hunted down the pattern and made my own yet!) I’ve made a couple of pillowcases for ConKerr Cancer as well. I really should do a couple more.

    Like

  2. Awesome ideas! Love the glamping block. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. KerryCan says:

    I look forward to your Friday Finds! The “Old Quilts Never Die” article was right up my alley!

    Like

Share your Comment with Me

