Whoops! Wednesday 4/2/2014

Sorry. It seems like life has gotten in the way of both blogging & sewing!

image

This was Sunday, March 30th. The day before it was in the 70’s! I want Spring!

Yesterday I did get to visit 2 wonderful quilt shops and picked up some fabric. Today I’m washing the fabric so I can get onto some projects this week.

image

Ok, pictures of fabric in a washing machine aren’t exciting – but, hey! That’s what I’m doing. We washed the dark colors last night.

image

Do yo wash your fabric before sewing? I know that’s a controversy in the quilting world.  I’m in the group that sometimes I wash and sometimes I  don’t. 

I wash batiks. I feel that makes them easier to work with and gets out any remaining dyes. I wash darks – especially reds & blues – to avoid post sewing bleeding when using with whites or other light colors.  Exception: I don’t prewash precuts like charms & jelly rolls or kits.

I promise some pictures of my projects soon.

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Whoops! Wednesday 4/2/2014

  1. I always, always, always (did I mention always?) prewash my fabric. The reds, royal blues and other bright colors are bad about bleeding. I also serge the edges before washing so they don’t fray and tangle.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Quiltmouse says:

      I agree with washing the deep/bright colors. If I’m just using a FQ, I will often just soak it in a Zip Bag with a drop of laundry soap & rinse & rinse before I use it.

      Like

  2. KerryCan says:

    I never wash fabric and then am terrified to wash the quilts. Not sure what the answer is!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t like to wash my fabric…too much like housework. 🙂 Seriously, I’ve found that it makes a tangled mess and some fabric has so much fraying that too much of it ends up in the trash can. I do a test on fabrics that I’m concerned about to make sure they are color-fast if it’s a quilt I’m giving away. I also send along washing instructions to the recipient in case they want to wash their quilts which includes recommending that they use the products Retayne and Color Catchers. I’ve never had anyone tell me that they had a problem even with baby and children’s quilts which I know get washed fairly frequently.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Quiltmouse says:

      Yes, I had some serious unraveling with some of the fabric I washed. But with this group, I had some dark navy & deep reds, and I didn’t want to risk color transfer. Then I had to wash the light fabrics because I didn’t want half the fabric washed and half unwashed. vicious cycle!

      Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

