Tip Tuesday–04/15/2014

Summer is trying to sneak in.  Temperatures have been in the 80’s but Winter is still trying to have a say.  We’re under a freeze warning and it may get cold tomorrow night.

Today I have a couple of Tips.  I admit, I am a list maker.  Yes, my daily list starts something like this:

  • “Get Up”
  • “Get Dressed”
  • “Eat Breakfast”

This way I can start the day with several items crossed off and I feel I’m accomplishing something!

This also translates into some ‘virtual’ lists I use when sewing.  At a Quilt Retreat I attended earlier this month, I had a number of projects and spent the first day just cutting.  Here is what I did to keep my projects organized:

2014-DesignBoard-2Projects

I used a Styrofoam packing board and pinned the cut pieces of two projects.  The project on the left was a block and I had them in the order the pattern labeled (A – B – C – D).  The squares on the right were for a set of four placemats and each set of blocks were assembled for one placemat.

2014-CutProjects

After cutting the pieces for Kevin the Quilter’s QOV Block Drive, I stacked them and put the instructions on top.  That way, when I was ready to stitch, I didn’t have to dig around for the instructions.

My friend, Camelia Elliott, hosted the Quilting Retreat and she took a picture of my Pins & Beads.  Check out her blog Here.

mef-landscape-page-001

Another block I was doing had a number of pieces and labeled them A-B-C-D-E, so I used some pins and Alphabet Beads to identify the pieces. I didn’t have to keep referring to the cutting directions to remember which piece was which.

Here are some tips I’ve seen on the Internet that I wanted to share.

Math for Triangles:

Triangles for Blocks on Point:  Bonnie Hunter always shares interesting tips.  She recently had someone ask her about calculating Triangles needed to fill-in when you place your blocks on Point.  I haven’t done this yet, so will file her hints here so I will have it whenever I get brave enough to tackle it.

Helpful How-Tos:

Do you Pinterest?  I haven’t gotten drawn into that world (yet), as I probably spend too much time on the Internet already.  But I recently saw a link by Quiltmaker Magazine for their Pinterest Board entitled “Helpful How-tos.”  There are 219 Pins that will take some time to review, but a quick browse and I’ve already found several helpful hints.

Thread:

Pat Sloan has a quick video discussing the right way to put the spool of thread on your sewing machine to prevent tangling and breaking.

Sewing Machine Needles: 

Sewing Machine Needles are often overlooked as an important tool that needs (1) replacing, or (2) the right one for the job.  Schmetz Needles share some magnified photos of that show what appears to the naked eye as a sharp needle may actually be tearing your thread or fabric!

Also, have you ever tried to read that size that is marked on your sewing machine needle.  I’m sorry, but I need my glasses, a craft magnifying lamp AND another hand-held magnifier!  Thanks to Schmetz Needles for color coding their needles for easier identification. 

Click Here and scroll to the middle of the page to download this in two sizes and keep handy.  I’m going to download this and save it to my smart phone for easy reference.  May even print it out and tape it somewhere in my sewing room!

Miscellaneous Tip Collections:

Quilter’s Newsletter posted a list of Tips they had received in the Comments section of an earlier Blog Post.  Their original post of Tips can be found Here.

Hope you can find something useful here.

Happy Stitching!

 

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tip Tuesday–04/15/2014

  1. KerryCan says:

    These are very clever ideas–I’m sure they help me out in the future! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karen says:

    Love the “pins & beads” idea! I think we have a tin of those letter beads somewhere in my sewing cottage- must go look!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Quiltmouse says:

      Yes, the beads are great. I also use them with the foam boards to keep my pieces straight. I have so many projects going at once and like to cut several at one time and these help keep me straight!

      Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

