Friday Finds — 4/18/2014

Today has been cloudy & cool cold.  So I made a big slow pot full of vegetable soup with sausage – you know the kind: Empty the Refrigerator all in one pot!  Then I heated the house making some melt-in-your-mouth sweet cornbread.

Well here are this week’s Friday Finds – Better late than never, I guess.

Free Patterns

Fat Quarter Shop shares a free pattern – A Tisket, A Tasket.  One of the nice features that the Fat Quarter Shop often does is to have a supporting YouTube Video.

image

You may want to check out all the other free patterns and YouTube Videos on the Fat Quarter Shop Website – Here.

Cute Thread Catcher Pattern & Tutorial by Needling  Things.  Sometimes it’s nice to have a cute little quickie project.  This would make up very fast and would be a cute gift filled with sewing notions or even candy.

Pincushion Thread Catcher Pattern is shared by Kathie of Merrimentdesign Blog.  Check out her other projects – “free simple & clever craft ideas.”

Fabric Box Tutorial:

I’m guessing this is going to be on my To-Do List, as I have seen this project referred to almost daily both in blogs and on Facebook for nearly a week!  Thank you to Seaside Stitches Blog for this fabulous Fabric Box Tutorial.  I have even seen it made with some handles to make cute little baskets.  (Hint to Self:  Make for Grands next year for Easter!)

Sew Mama Sew Blog always shares interesting projects. Recently Malka Dubrawsky from a stitch in dye shared a Supersize Shoo-Fly Quilt Tutorial.  As a change from lots of little pieces, this quilt consists of 4 supersized blocks which measure 35” x 35” to create a whole quilt which is 70” x 70”

Malka shares a picture of a quilt made with the block ‘normal’ size compared to the Supersized version.  Wouldn’t this look great with some large print patterns?

Pot Holders or Mug Rugs

Karen at Confessions of a Home Ec Dropout recently shared this Tutorial she saw on Buttons and Butterflies Blog for Leaf Potholders.  The tutorial makes 2 potholders.  Here is a picture Karen took of one that she made.

Photo: I think I'll use it as a mug mat instead of a potholder. The tutorial makes two.

She thinks she will use it as a Mug Rug. Isn’t it adorable!!

If you check out these patterns/tutorials, why not check out some of the other posts by these bloggers.  I’m sure they would appreciate it.

Happy Stitching!

 

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Free Patterns, Friday Finds. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friday Finds — 4/18/2014

  1. Pingback: The Week That Was–04/05/2015 | QuiltMouse

  2. Pingback: The Month That Was–Summary March 2015 | QuiltMouse

  3. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon every
    day. It will always be exciting to read through content from
    other writers and practice a little something from their websites.

    Like

  4. You have some pretty cute stuff on this post :>)

    Like

  5. Tina says:

    Hi, Mary Ellen. Thank you for the link and kind words about my tutorial. Your comment on my blog was “no-reply”, quite common with google+. I’m glad I was able to find you here.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

