The Finishing Touches–Preparing the Binding

Though not as exciting as piecing a top and watching a quilt develop into something pleasant to see, preparing a binding is an important part of making a quilt.  It is the finishing touch.  Ok, except for the label, but that’s for another post.

Here I have pressed the Economy Binding (1-1/4” strips) for the Fabric Café Pinwheel Top I just finished.

Binding-FoldedOnce

A spray bottle filled with water is very important for me in this process.  I use my iron dry, but steam does help this binding keep it’s creases.  So, I spray my binding before ironing it in half.

Binding-SprayBottle

Here I’m turning one side in for 1/4” edge, but don’t want to spray the fabric again which would relax the first crease.  So instead, I have some muslin covering my ironing board and just spray the muslin before laying the binding strip down for the second ironing. Using this method I get the benefits of steam without getting my fingers injured by the steam spraying out of the iron.

Binding-FoldedTwice

And, of course, I use my trusty Clapper to hold in the steam and set the seam.  Thanks, Ralph!  This really makes a sharp crease!

Binding-FoldedClapper

After the binding strip is cool, I wrap it around a piece of cardboard to help maintain the crease.

Binding-Wrapped

I tuck the loose end under one of the other strips and carefully pull the bundle off the cardboard.

Binding-Wrapped2

Then I store the Binding bundle in a snack sized zipped plastic storage bag.

Binding-Stored

Add a 3”x5” card or Post-It Note with the name of the quilt and any other information to help you remember and store in a safe place.  Now you have your binding all ready for after you quilt your quilt (is there another way of saying that?) or when your quilt returns from the Long-Arm Quilter.

I have found that there may be some time between when I finished a top and when I need to add the binding.  If I prepare the binding after I complete the top, I don’t run the risk of forgetting what that piece of fabric is for and accidently using it in another project.

A Friendly Reminder:

Vol9-blog-tour-coming-socialmedia

So excited!  Join me Monday for the Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Vol. 9 Blog Tour.

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Tips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

