Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 9–Blog Tour Day #1

QMMS-140044-cover_200Today is Day #1 of the Blog Tour featuring Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 9 to be released May 6th. 

Join me and the Quilty Pleasures Blog as we get a sneak-peak of some of the blocks.

If you’ve never participated in a Blog Tour, Click Here for some information.  Grab a cup of coffee or tea and settle back to read more from the Designers for the Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Volume #9!  You will find some great information and even some Give-a-ways!!

Today’s Featured Designers:

Please follow the instructions on their posts to be entered in their giveaways.

Note: *** those I did

My Tested Blocks

My group tested 13 of the 100 Blocks.  I was able to test 2 additional blocks. We randomly received patterns and didn’t know (and had no choice) as to which techniques we would be testing.  All Blocks finish to 12” square (12-1/2” unfinished).

Ann Wiens – Block #900 – Common Thread (Pieced)

Click on the link above to go to Ann’s blog and read about her block.  She used scraps to create the sample block, but shows the block made up in different ways and used in quilts.

So, here’s the block I made.  I really liked this block and enjoyed seeing it used in quilts on Ann’s blog.

MEF-AnneWiens Block-900

Denise Russart – Block #847 – Should’a Flown South (Mixed Techniques-Pieced/Applique)

This is the block Denise made. When I see a block like this, I sometimes wonder exactly how I would use it in a quilt.  Click on the link above to read her blog post and see how she used this in a quilt.  I especially like the one she titled “Round Robin.”

Here’s the Block I made.  With the winter we had this year, this block was special.  He’s a cutie!  OK, he’s not quite finished – I have to add the applique stitches.

mef-DeniseRussart-Block-847

Deborah Johnson – Block #874 – Cherry Starburst (Pieced)

Deborah likes to create sampler blocks and this is her block.  She shares a picture of it used in a quilt she’s making and I love the secondary design which is created.  Click on the link above to check it out on her blog.

I loved making this block.  It looks complicated but using some simple techniques it works up quick.  My husband has requested a quilt made in red/white blocks.  His mother quilted since she was young, so he considers himself a quilt expert and this was his favorite of all the blocks I’ve tested.

MEF-DeborahJohnson-CherryStarburst-874

 

I’ve got so much more to share, but for now, why don’t you check out the Featured Designers.  Maybe you’ll find a block you might want to make!  Sign up on their Blogs and you may win a copy of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Volume #9.

Vol9-blog-tour-this-week-socialmedia

Join me tomorrow and I’ll share more of the blocks I’ve made.

 

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in QM 100 Blocks, Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

