Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 9–Blog Tour Day #4

QMMS-140044-cover_200

Only two more days! This is Day #4 of the Blog Tour featuring Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 9 to be released May 6th. This week the Quilty Pleasures Blog has invited us to a sneak-peak of some of the blocks. Join us as we see so many fun blocks. Friend Quiltmaker Magazine on Facebook and you can see these and other blocks.     Vol9-blog-tour-this-week-socialmedia

 

Each day the Blog Tour previews pictures of Blocks and shares links to the Blogs of several of the Block Designers. Click on the Designers to visit their Blog to hear them tell about their Block & thoughts behind the design. Many Blogs will give you a chance to comment and win a copy of Volume #9 or other great prizes.

Today’s Featured Designers:

Please follow the instructions on their posts to be entered in their giveaways.

Note: *** are blocks I made

Remember to visit today’s sponsor for another chance to win:

My Tested Blocks

My group tested 13 of the 100 Blocks plus I got to test 2 extra blocks. We randomly received patterns and didn’t know (and had no choice) as to which techniques we would be testing. All Blocks finish to 12” square (12-1/2” unfinished).

Judy Laquidara – Block #881 – Twinkle, Twinkle (Pieced)

See Judy’s blog about her block Here.  She shows her block in other colors and in quilts and a table runner.

Here’s how my block turned out.  I loved the black contrast with the colors.  I can see this using bright, primary colors!

MEF-JudyLaquidara-881

Joyce Weeks – Block #899 – Summer Picnic (Pieced)

Joyce shares her block and the quilt she’s making on her blog – Click Here to read more about it. She’s planning an applique border, but that’s still in progress.

My block turned out like this.  I really like how it looks.

Mef-JoyceWeeks-PicnicTable-899

Nancy Allen – Block #801 – Mexican Rose (Appliqué)

Read what Nancy has to say about her block Here. She shares some tips for how she did her block.  I love the close up on her blog of the quilting.

My block was made using fusible fabric iron-on and still needs stitching.  (can you tell my Appliqué skills still need work?)  I like how it turned out.

MEF-NancyAllen-MexicanRose-801

Andee Andriole & Candee Ferris – Block #853 – Twin Baskets (Piecing)

Twin sister, Candee, designed twin Baskets.  Click Here to go to their blog and see how Andee used this block to make a wall quilt.

twinbaskets

I have a hard time choosing my favorite block from this issue.  I really love them all and can’t wait until I make a sampler quilt out of them!  This block is impressive and looks striking. 

MEF-Andriole-Ferris-TwinBaskets-853

And I have a Special Mention – Camelia Elliott.  She is a friend of mine and this is the first time she’s been included in Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks.  I’m guessing it may not be the last!  Be sure to check out her blog and see her block and the quilt she made with it.  So CUTE!!  Tell her I sent you!!

EPSON MFP image

I have 7 more blocks to show.  Any blocks not posted tomorrow, will be highlighted in my Blog post next week, when Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Volume #9 will be available at local quilt shops and bookstores.

joinforblogtour9_200

For now, go check out Today’s Featured Designers. Maybe you’ll find a block you might want to make! Sign up on their Blogs and you may win a copy of Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Volume #9. Join me tomorrow and I’ll share more of the blocks I’ve made.

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in QM 100 Blocks, Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 9–Blog Tour Day #4

  1. Your blocks are awesome! You are such a good little tester. Thank you for mentioning me in your blog :>)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. trkingmomoe says:

    I like the first block 881. That would make a quilt with a lot of drama.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nancy Allen says:

    I love the fabrics you used to test my Folk Art Mexican Rose!

    Like

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

