Summer’s Almost Over

Well, depending on how you look at it, either (1) Summer ended 9/1/2014; or (2) Fall will begin 9/21/2014.  Temperatures are beginning to get cooler overnight and daytime temperatures are no longer in the heat-wave zone.

Editorial Note:  I know I haven’t blogged much – ok, not at all, but Summer’s been busy.  I promise to do better – or at least to try.

One thing that has been keeping me busy has been our garden.  We don’t have a large garden patch.  What we’ve had was a small sunny spot by the shed in the back yard and several other plants scattered in the front yard flower gardens.

We won’t talk about the tomato plants that were in containers on the front porch.  It seems before the tomatoes matured they began rotting.  Will have to research that before next year.

What we’ve had an abundance of, has been Yellow & Zucchini Squash-

It started in July –

2014-07-21 15.57.16

It continued in August –

2014-08-06 10.35.14

And, now in September, I’m still surrounded by Squash!!

2014-09-14 13.51.45

We’ve had Zucchini Quiche, Zucchini Cinnamon Bread, Squash Casserole, Squash Cornbread.  I think we had a different squash dish every night for 2 weeks!

Sometimes it was just sautéed in butter with onions and a few tomatoes. and sprinkled with some shredded Parmesan Cheese.

2014-07-21 17.46.07

Most of the Zucchini I have now is large and I usually shred larger ones for Zucchini bread or adding to Chili or Spaghetti Sauce.  One issue with the larger squash is that the seeds must be removed.

See what I mean?

2014-09-14 12.33.36-1

In the past I have used a spoon to scoop out the seeds, but wasn’t real happy with it.  Then I discovered a cute trick – use a melon baller.  You know, I don’t think I’ve ever used it to make melon balls! LOL!!  It has a sharper edge than a regular spoon and cuts into the seeds very nicely.

2014-09-14 12.34.462014-09-14 12.35.36-1

Nicely cleaned out!

2014-09-14 12.37.14

Also, the outer skin is somewhat tough.  I do not usually peel my Zucchini, but I am peeling this. Just used my old fashion potato peeler.

2014-09-14 13.02.15

Now I have a colander full of shredded Zucchini that I let drain some of the moisture out.  This is from just one Zucchini!

2014-09-14 13.06.13

I will prepare this for freezing and put 2 cups per freezer bag for later use.

Back to the kitchen – the Zucchini is calling!

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summer’s Almost Over

  1. KerryCan says:

    Here’s another idea for your zucchini, if you have an ice cream maker! http://lovethosehandsathome.wordpress.com/2013/09/09/you-put-zucchini-in-what/

    Like

  2. We have missed you! I have an upcoming blog post (www.cameliaelliott.com) on what to do with all of that zucchini and squash. It may help you out

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

