Friday Finds–November 15, 2014

Today I have a number of items I want to share.

image

Last week I posted about several stops we made on our recent trip to a number of the shops participating in the 2014 MD/VA Quilter’s Quest.  Click Here to check out the official Quest website.

Jinny Beyer’s Blog posted a quick look at the 10 shops participating in this annual Shop Hop.

PSA (Public Service Announcement)

Have you ever thought that you have a Power Tool in your sewing room?  Lori of The Inbox Jaunt shares some safety tips for using one of the Power Tools of Quilting.

Singer-FW221-1951

Hope this hasn’t happened to you, but it is always good to be reminded of the dangers of quilting.

 

In the News:

Webfabrics

One of the shops we stopped at last week was Webfabrics in Purcellville, VA.  While it is not actually a local quilt shop (to me) it is very much worth the hour drive to shop there.

Recently the owner, Carly Mul and her shop were mentioned in an article in the Washington Post. Like most quilters, Carly is a very giving person and finds many opportunities  to lead her quilting community to reach out to others. 

Read all about how this year one of her charitable projects was in cooperation with Loudoun (County) Volunteer Caregivers to provide quilts for people in the community undergoing treatment for cancer.

 

Some Free Patterns I’ve found on the Internet:

I-Spy Placemats

This week I found this tutorial for I-Spy Placemats by Stacey from Boy, Oh Boy, Oh Boy Crafts Blog.  I think I’m going to dig through my scraps and make some of these.

Fabric Napkins

Looks like these would be a simple addition to any placemats you make! How about some No Sew Fabric Napkins found on Nancy Zieman’s Blog.

Portable First-Aid Kit

Check out the tutorial that Amy of Positively Splendid Blog.

It is for a Portable First-Aid Kit, but it could be made for a travel makeup kit or maybe a car activity kit to keep your kids from getting bored on trips or even a small sewing kit.

Don’t Forget –

Remember to come back last week when I finally get to show off the blocks that I tested for Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks, Volume 10.  I will be linking to the 100 Blocks Blog Tour and you will get to see lots of great blocks.

joinforblogtour10_200.jpg

Until then,

Happy Stitching,

 

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Free Patterns, Friday Finds, Quilting, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me

