The Week That Was–Monday 1/26/2015

It is always kind of a let down after having a productive week like I had last week.  But honestly, you can get a lot more done in a hotel room than you can do at home when you have laundry, housework & meals to deal with.

 

I don’t have a lot of pictures because I’ve been working on some blocks for Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Volume 11.  These won’t be shared until the official Blog Tour – I’m guessing late April or early May.

2015-01-24 11.28.59

Well, I can tell you I’ve been doing some paper piecing & cutting some fabric.  I like the accuracy of paper piecing, but don’t like the wastefulness.  I haven’t yet figured out the best way to calculate how much fabric will be needed and how not to waste it.  There is a pile of odd shaped scraps and another pile of fabric with unusual angles cut.

Another thing I can show you is that I got some fabric!

Here are two 3-Yard Bundles I got to make quilts for some special kids.  Now I need to pick out the patterns to make.

2015-01-24 10.44.09

Here is some fabric to make both Travel Pillowcases and Standard Pillowcases.  I think I have some fabric in my stash for the trim and borders.

2015-01-24 10.46.39

I’ve been wanting to make a two color – Red & White – quilt and this is the January 2015 Aurifil Designer of the Month Block. The design, Flurry, is reminiscent of a snowflake – which we may be seeing a lot of this week!  It finishes to 15” and I’m not sure if I will make it a wall hanging or hold out to make a quilt with all of the Designer blocks.

2015-01-24 10.45.46

Here are three 3-Yard Bundles from Fabric Café that arrived in the mail – You know what that means – I have three tops to make!

2015-01-24 10.41.38

Quilt Top #1 – Pattern: SewEZ in Teal, Orange & Green. Size 48” x 56”

2015-01-26 02.32.56

I was able to get one of the tops done for Fabric Café – As the title implies, it is a very easy pattern and could turn into a quilt in a very short time. OK, in the picture the Green looks more Yellow, but I promise, it is Green.

In the non-quilting category, I was able to spend some time with a neighbor toddler twice this week. She is 13-months old and loves exploring her world and learning new things!  I am so happy that I was able to spend time with her!

Hope you find some time to stitch this week!

 

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Week That Was–Monday 1/26/2015

  1. Pingback: The Month That Was–Summary, January 2015 | QuiltMouse

  2. I love the black and white fabric from Fabric Cafe. I know you had a wonderful time with that darling little toddler. They are so sweet at that age 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. KerryCan says:

    Wow–I get a little overwhelmed just looking at all that fabric! I’m more of a one-project-at-a-time kind of gal. You’re so productive!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Prue says:

    So many new fabrics for you to play with. Enjoy!! And thanks for sharing them with us.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

