Tuesday Tips–1/27/2015

I really do like the Internet!  From the comfort of my recliner, sitting here staying warm while it is snowing outside, I can learn new things.  Also, I can research and find out how to do things.

My sewing machine needed some cleaning and oiling, and my short-term memory wasn’t working!  I needed to find out how to oil it.  Well, enter my computer and the Internet!  Search term: Oiling Bernina Sewing Machine – Result: Both written instructions and Videos!

 

Today I’d like to share some links to a number of other interesting sites.

Thread:

Aurifil Thread – Which Thread Do I Use for What Project?

Here is a link to several Videos that Aurifil has shared explaining differences in threads and when to use them –

image

Binding/Mitered Corners:

Marci Baker shares her tips for Binding Mitered Corners  – a VideoShe also has a link to another page with some written tips.

Organization:

Scroll through the 36 pictures of items suggested by All People Quilt which may help with your organization

Hanging a Wall Hanging Quilt:

Do you really need a special quilt hanger just to hang that wall hanging you just made?  No!  Here is a simple way that Jenifer of 42 Quilts Blog shared.  It is an improvement on a method that she previously described.  It uses simple to find Command Strips and a piece of baseboard both of which can be found at your local hardware store.

Dresden Plate – does this intimidate you?

Well fear no more!  Quiltmaker shares a video, some templates and tips for making several sizes of Dresden Plate.  I’m visual and a video really helps me understand the technique!

Well, that’s it for this week!  Hope we’ve discovered something that will help you on your journey!

 

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tuesday Tips–1/27/2015

  1. Joan Fisher says:

    nice place to visit sight.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. KerryCan says:

    This ability to find information about EVERYTHING is my favorite aspect of the internet, too. All I have to do is vaguely wonder something and I can know the answer!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me

