Tuesday Tips–2/3/2015

Winter is still with us, and according to the Ground Hog, we will be having 6 more weeks of winter.  So I’m guessing that means we will have 6 more weeks of sewing time!

Today will be a sewing day for me, but before that gets started here is today’s list of Tips:

  • Bed Sizes/Quilt Sizes – A different Twist. Your blocks are 12” Finished, so how many do you need across and down to make a Twin or a Queen Quilt?  This chart will help you calculate how many blocks you need for what size.

  • 7 Quilting Hacks that will save you Money  – OK, I’m on the Internet – a lot – but haven’t quite figured out the work “HACK.” Basically, it looks like it means Tips, so check out these.

Do you have any quilting tools that were not originally made for quilters?  Here is something I use – Disposable Mascara Wands. Found at Beauty Supply Shops, the package I got was under $3 for 12 wands.  I have one in my travel case and one by my machine and use them to trap that pesky fuzz under the feed dogs or around the bobbin.

2015-02-02 23.41.59 

 

  • 50 Sewing Tips for Beginners & ProsWell, quilting is sewing, but not all sewing is quilting.  I do some projects that are not quilting – such as pillowcases.  Amber of Crazy Little Projects has compiled a list some helpful Tips. You may find something on this list you didn’t know or maybe had forgotten.  

 

I’ve not gotten my space ‘transformed’ but it is fun to see what others have done.

 

One fabric I never pre-wash is Flannel, especially when making a rag quilt.  But on the other hand, when using Flannel for the backing of a pieced quilt, I will always pre-wash it since it will shrink more than the 100% quilting cotton fabric.

  • 2015-02-02 23.41.46Seam Ripper Video by Marci Baker.  If you sew, you know you are going to do it.  I have a friend that uses her Rotary Cutter to Seam Rip!  Here is one way to rip out a long seam.

I have a custom seam riper that my Brother-in-law made for me last Christmas.

  • Moda Bake Shop shares some Tips and Tricks: Seam AllowancesYour machine probably has some markings for 1/4” or 1/2” seams, but what if you need to stitch a 1-1/2” seam and there is no markings?  What would you do?

  • Lori Kennedy on her Blog “The Inbox Jaunt”  shares some insights to help with your Tension Confusion:

Return to her Blog next week for more about Tension.

Well, that’s about it for this week.  It’s a new month, what are you going to be doing?

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tuesday Tips–2/3/2015

  1. msminnesota says:

    My friend Gretchen clued me in to a non-quilty tool that she uses…I picked some up and agree they’re great. For the same thing as the mascara brush: http://www.smartpractice.com/Images/Products/Supplies/PhotoLg/440664.jpg

    A coworker posted that cartoon on my FaceBook page. VERY TRUE!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. KerryCan says:

    That cartoon is hilarious! And you found lots of good tips this time around–I need to take the time to read all those links!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

