The Week That Was–2/8/2015

 

The week started with some cold weather and a smattering of snow.  This was just about all we got.

2015-02-01 22.24.43

The rest of the week was windy & cold.  With temperatures down in the teens and wind-chills much lower it was great weather to stay in and stitch!

My sewing machine set up to chain-piece some HSTs. My husband took an old piece of office furniture – a table with one center drawer – cut a hole in it and created a shelf where the drawer was. Now I have a sewing table which allows my machine to sit down and have the sewing tray level with the table top.  I love it!

2015-02-04 10.49.32

  • Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks:

We’ve received a couple of more blocks to test.  Here I’m auditioning fabric for one of the blocks. I spent one day going through my scraps and re-organizing them.

I’ve got some plain piecing to do, appliqué and reverse appliqué to do.

2015-02-03 11.30.48

 

  • Fabric Café:

This is one of the two tops I’m working on.  Fabric is all cut.

2015-01-27 16.44.18

I could not believe my eyes.  How many times have I worked with stripes only to have them come out a bit wonky when stitched.  Honestly, I did not do anything special, but when this seam was stitched look how straight the stripe is!

2015-02-05 12.45.40

I can’t show this top yet, but once it is available I’ll post it! I think you’ll like it!

  • Stitching for Good:

Friday was our monthly charity sewing day.  Our projects included quilting, making pillowcases to be donated to a hospital and Bead Bags of Courage for children battling sever illnesses.  I spent most of my time helping other stitchers and cutting fabric for pillowcases and quilts.

Click Here to see my post yesterday where I shared our day of charity stitching. 

2015-02-06 11.17.12

  • Besides the normal, cooking, cleaning, bill paying, grocery shopping, and my sewing, I was able to visit with one of our littlest neighbors while her mother took a run. We had fun dancing, singing and playing!

Hope you were able to get some stitching in this week!

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Charity, Quilting, Quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Week That Was–2/8/2015

  1. Pingback: The Month That Was–Summary, February 2015 | QuiltMouse

  2. Mel did a great job on your sewing machine table!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. KerryCan says:

    Looks like a happy, productive week! I love what your husband did to make the sewing table–very resourceful!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me

