Tuesday Tips–2/10/2015

Good Morning!  Have you done any sewing this week?  I consider myself an experienced quilter, but also feel that I am constantly learning something to improve my craft.  Here are a few tips that I’ve seen this past week.

Heather takes some of the popular products, prints on them, sews them on to a small ‘quilt’ and washes them.  And washes them some more! This is an interesting read on her thoughts comparing the results.

On her blog, Lorna has a series of posts which discusses 10 aspects of quilting, ranging from Fabric & Thread, Cutting, 1/4” Seams, to Quilting with your Walking Foot and Binding.

  • Here is a video from Quilters Newsletter Magazine demonstrating Image Transfer Technique with Markers.  It would be an interesting technique to personalize a block in your quilt or add an embellishment to your quilt label.

I’m not sure this is something I will be trying, but thought it was interesting.  Let me know if you try this.

  • Have you ever thought about Bobbins?  Thanks to Superior Threads for this chart.

Bobbins

Superior Thread has some interesting Reference Guides, not only about Thread.  Check them out Here.

  • Do you ever get stalled by the instructions “Quilt As Desired?”  I do.  Sometimes I have tops completed, but have no idea how to actually ‘quilt’ them. Donna, at Fabric Café, recently shared on her blog a cute way to not only quilt, but embellish at the same time by adding Chenille-by-the-Inch. Read her post Here – it is full of pictures!

This technique not only solves the question on ‘how do I quilt this top,’ but adds texture and can make a simple top Pop!

 

Well, that’s my list for this week.  I hope you’ve found something that interests you.

 

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

