Friday Finds–2/13/2015

Happy Day Before Valentine’s Day! Do you have plans with your Sweetie?  Our plans will probably be to hang around the house, and I bet some stitching will be involved.  After all, we’re an ‘old married couple.’ We celebrate our togetherness year round.  But, a special Happy Anniversary to my Sister and her husband.  They chose an easy day to remember!

2015-02-13 00.13.51

Here is a Mini Heart Wall Quilt that I made a couple of years ago.  It was all hand-stitched.  I got the pattern from the Sew Bitter Sweet Designs Blog when they had a Valentine’s Day Showcase in 2012 and guest Blogger Lyanna from Purple Panda Quilts shared her tutorial.

This week I want to share a few of the projects I’ve found on the Internet that may one day be added to my To-Do List.

  • If you work real hard, you might be able to at least finish this top in time for tomorrow. Last year, the Dear Stella Blog had a guest blogger – Nicole from Modern Handcraft – and she shared a tutorial for a cute Valentine’s Quilt which is 54” x 62”.  Read it at Big Love Quilt Tutorial from Modern Handcraft.

Made with HSTs (Half Square Triangles), you will get lots of practice matching your points.  Nicole has lots of pictures in her tutorial to help you succeed!

  • I’ve mentioned before that I’m a visual learner.  It helps me so much if there are pictures along with a pattern, but thanks to the Internet, I can also have a video to help.

All People Quilt, along with Baby Lock, has a series of videos called “Show Me How.”  This video walks you through making a simple table runner.  Click Here for the PDF version of the pattern.

image

Although this pattern is designed for pre-cuts, I can see this as a great way to use up your 2-1/2” x 12” scraps.  Or even better stagger different width of strips 12” long.

  • Little Miss Shabby Blog shares a Free Tutorial – That Red Quilted Pillow.  Click on the Link in the post for the Tutorial, but be sure to make note of the supplies needed that are listed in the post, but not in the PDF Pattern.

I like this idea for using up scraps and practicing my FMQ (Free Motion Quilting) without dealing with a huge quilt.

  • Another cute use of scraps – the Little Birdie Pincushion.  This is another free pattern from Craftsy.com and you will need to have a free username/password to log in and download the pattern.

Hint: Save your tiny, tiny scraps and thread snips and use these to stuff your pincushion!

Guess that’s it for today!  Are you making a list of projects to do in your ‘spare’ time? 

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

 

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Free Patterns, Friday Finds. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

