The Week That Was–2/15/2015

Do you find yourself stitching more when the weather is C-O-L-D?  Heating up my sewing room with the iron is a great way to warm up! Winking smile  I do find I am more productive when the sun is shining, whether it is cold or hot.

 2015-02-14-Snow

We’ve had some snow flurries, lots of wind and falling temperatures.  The wind chill on Friday was below Zero ( F ) and they are promising today will be even colder. This is what it looked like last night.  It didn’t snow a lot, but the wind was rattling the house!

  • Back in December I commented on a Blog Post at the Gateway Quilts & Stuff Blog to be eligible for a free pattern – Frosty by Toby Lischko.  Isn’t he cute!

As part of that Blog Post there was also another Give-Away.  I was surprised to get an email from Toby that I had won!  This week I was happy to receive a bundle of Fat Quarters from the Luxury Essentials collection by P&B Textiles. Also included was a Free Pattern from Toby Lischko of the Gateway Quilts & Stuff Blog.  Thank you for the goodies.  I will be adding this pattern to my To-Do List.

See what I got!

2015-02-13 17.16.41

I’m hoping to maybe make the center of the quilt as a wall hanging.  Toby showed this on her blog post. She also shares a tutorial on making the paper-pieced geese

Wouldn’t that be so cute?

 

  • Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Testing – it is coming close to the end of this testing cycle and we’ve got a few more blocks to test.  I’ve been sorting through my fabric scraps for lots of colors, but it seems Teal and Black are very popular!

 

  • Fabric Café – Two Tops completed and heading off to the LA Quilter (Long Arm Quilter).

Pattern: Stepping Up, Size: 45-1/2” x 60-1/2”

2015-02-12 14.01.36

This was a new pattern from last year.  I really like it in the Red/White/Black combo. Our 15 year-old Pom was supervising the photo-shoot!

Pattern: Boxes and Bows, Size: 49” x 61”

2015-02-10 12.22.56

This is a brand new pattern and looks sharp in the White & Black colors.  This pattern will be available beginning at the Mid-Atlantic Quilt Festival in Hampton, VA. later this month. 

Note: If you want to order it before it gets uploaded online, you can call Fabric Café’s toll-free number (866-855-0998) and ask for it by name.

Not exactly fussy cutting, but do you ever try to match up your fabric when piecing borders?  Although, I am a bit OCD, I don’t usually stress over keeping the pattern matched.  But in this case I did.  I wanted to keep the stripes consistent, so I did line up the fabric when piecing this border.  Can you see my seams? (Hope not! Smile)

2015-02-10 11.29.52

  •  It isn’t Spring around here yet, but we did get some Spring Cleaning done.  We sorted through a coat closet and pulled out some jackets & coats to re-home or maybe up-cycle.  Two other rooms got a bit of attention.

Hope you get some stitching done this week!

 

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Quilts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Week That Was–2/15/2015

  1. Pingback: The Month That Was–Summary, February 2015 | QuiltMouse

  2. knitnkwilt says:

    Stepping Up really appeals to me. As to matching borders: large prints yes unless I’d waste too much fabric, then I use cornerstones to interrupt the print and cut length of fabric to get large enough pieces. Smaller prints ( on non-linear, as in not stripes or plaids) I don’t.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Boxes and Bows is stunning and so simple! And yes, I do match up borders when I have stripes and big prints.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

