Tuesday Tips–2/17/2015

It is Tuesday, so we must be checking out Tips found on the Internet.  Most of my resources are other Bloggers and often I find out about them through my friends on Facebook.   

  • On her Facebook Page – Quiltville – Bonnie Hunter shared these tips about what needle to use – Did you know that one size does not fit all projects!

image

  • Has anyone tried this?  Using a 50/50 mix of vinegar and water to release wrinkles when ironing?  I saw this on Megan Neilson Design Diary Blog.  She tested using this Vinegar Mix two different ways – one way sprayed directly on the fabric and the other way soaking a paper bag with it and ironing using the wet bag as a pressing cloth.

She concluded that using the wet paper bag did somewhat better, but I’m wondering about the bag.  One thing, our stores no longer use paper bags.  They even charge us for using their plastic bags, so we use recycled/re-usable bags.

I wonder if it would work using a muslin pressing cloth dampened with the vinegar mix.  I’m going to have to try this.

  • Another use for Vinegar.  I like using ‘normal’ household items.  I buy Vinegar in the large bottle and use it for washing windows and disinfecting my kitchen cutting board.  But in the sewing room, I have a spray bottle of 50/50 vinegar/water solution and frequently spray my cutting mat.

I’ve seen several hints to maintain a healthy cutting mat and extend it’s life which reference giving it a bath to maintain moisture.  Instead, I use my spray bottle and a soft cloth to wash my mat every once in a while.  I sometimes even just spray the mat and leave the mixture on it overnight and wipe any excess off in the morning.

  • Tell me, what advice would you give a brand new quilter?  Is there something you wish someone had told you when you first started quilting?  On the Polkadot Chair Blog Melissa shares Three Tips for Beginning Quilters.

Share your tips in the comments and I’ll include them in a post.

  • Talk to a number of quilters and I bet you will get several different opinions about how to put a price on your work. Here is an interesting discussion on the value of a hand-made quilt.  Jennifer Moore on her blog, Moore Approved, has a good discussion.

Do you ever sell your completed quilts?  If so, how do you come up with a price?

That’s it for this week.  Hope you are staying warm (that is, if it is winter where you live!).

 

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tuesday Tips–2/17/2015

  1. KerryCan says:

    That’s interesting about the vinegar. I’m trying to figure out if it could create problems down the road, by leaving a residue that would attract bugs. I know starch can do that–and it leads to the fabrics being damaged . . .

    Liked by 1 person

    • Quiltmouse says:

      I knew about starch attracting silverfish, but haven’t heard anything about vinegar. Vinegar can be used as a rinse additive in the washing machine and in the wash to help fabric colors from running. But that is very watered down. Used as a pressing aid, it does say to dilute it 50/50, and if sprayed on a pressing cloth or brown bag, I’m not sure how much would actually settle on the fabric. But I’m not sure vinegar will replace Mary Ellen’s Best Spray – I do love it and it is great to release stubborn wrinkles.

      Like

  2. I have a new post up today about valuing quilts. It’s the third in my series. https://catbirdquilts.wordpress.com/2015/02/18/price-vs-value-of-a-quilt-part-2/

    For a lot more perspective, you really must check out Sam Hunter’s posts on We Are $ew Worth It. http://huntersdesignstudio.com/waswi-posts/

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

