Tuesday Tips–2/24/2015

I don’t know about you, but several years ago I finally discovered that I am a visual learner.  I need to see not just read about it.  Therefore, it is very helpful that on the Internet we have access to videos.

Today I am sharing links to a number of videos. 

I think one of the most important steps to having sharp scissors is to invest in the highest quality of scissors you can afford. 

 

Another tip is not to use your ‘good’ fabric scissors to cut anything other than fabric. I have my ‘good’ fabric scissors, and then I have some cheaper fabric scissors that I use when doing fusible appliqué which requires cutting fabric & paper.

I also use older rotary blades that are no longer ‘cutting fabric like butter’ to cut paper when I’m doing fusible appliqué or paper-piecing.  This helps save my sharper rotary blades for fabric. 

I like the suggestion she made to have a scrap quilt sandwich available to test out your stitches whenever you change your bobbin or top thread.  It is better to check it out on scrap before messing up your project.

One tip that I’ve heard before, is to remember TNT whenever you encounter stitching problems.  Do not automatically ‘assume’ that it is tension issues.  Think TNT – Thread – Needle – Tension

  • First check out T = Thread. Is it old thread, is the machine threaded correctly?  Unthread your machine, both top thread and bobbin and rethread it. Change both your top and bobbin threads – do you still have a problem?
  • Second – if checking your thread doesn’t solve your stitching problems, change your N = Needle. A needle that has been used may develop nicks & burrs which can mess up your stitching.  You should change your needle regularly.
  • Finally, check your T = Tension.  I’ve been told most tension related issues can be fixed by adjusting your upper tension. Just move it one notch at a time.  And remember – The higher the number, the tighter the tension and the Lower the number the looser the tension.  A tight upper tension will pull your bobbin thread up to the top of your piece.  A loose upper tension and you will see your upper thread on the back of your piece.

I have done a little Free Motion Quilting on my Domestic Sewing Machine.  I’m thinking I will make some small quilt sandwiches – maybe 18-24” square and try this out.

  • QNNTV.com shares a video from Quiltmaker – Big Blocks – How to Enlarge a Block.

Have you ever seen a block you liked, but it was smaller than you wanted?  Quiltmaker Associate Editor, Shayla Wolf demonstrates how to enlarge a block to any size you would like with simple math, while making Fairy Tale Castle block #640 from Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Volume 7.

That’s all the videos for today.  I hope that you have found something useful!

 

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tuesday Tips–2/24/2015

  1. Prue Hoppin says:

    Once again, Mary Ellen, your posts are wonderful. I open them immediately when they arrive and always come away with great tips and ideas. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

