Friday Finds–3/13/2015

Can you ever have too many projects?  I don’t know about you, but even if I have a couple of projects going, I always have a few more in bags waiting. 

2015-03-13 10.43.06

I like to have some simple projects, like pillowcases (for ConKerr Cancer) or bead bags (for Beads of Courage Bags).  I also like to have some bigger projects and of course there is always that project that pops up and must be done right away.

Where do you find your projects?  I see what other quilters are doing, then I check out patterns at quilt shops & quilt shows. A couple of times a year we may do Shop Hops like The Quilter’s Quest or the Row by Row Experience.  Then, of course, there is the Internet!

My posts on Fridays are all about projects – sometimes not always quilts. These are on my To Be Done One Day List.  I’ve made a few, but mostly these will be done ‘when I get time.’

  • Found on Facebook – Moda shared this free pattern on their Facebook page – Ships Ahoy!– Throw Back Thursday – TBT features a free pattern from Polly Minick and Laurie Simpson

'Who doesn't love a free pattern? TBT features a free pattern from Polly Minick and Laurie Simpson. http://www.modafabrics.com/TBT-FP-ShipsAhoy.pdf #TBT #freepattern #showmethemoda'

The sail boats are made with HSTs and placed on point.  I’ve not made a quilt on point yet, but this one looks cute.

  • Boxy Quilted Pouch – I like to practice my FMQ (Free Motion Quilting) but I hate wasting fabric for ‘just practice.’ This is a great way to practice and make something practical.

This blog post by Craftsy gives the tutorial on creating this pouch.  If you want to download a 6-page PDF of the tutorial, click on the Blog’s link and go to the Craftsy site.  Note: You will have to have a username and password to access the free pattern on Craftsy.

  • On the Fly – Have you ever made a quilt with flannel.  All People Quilt has this free pattern that is made with all flannel.

The instructions call for flannel for all the top pieces.  It does not state the backing is flannel, so I’m not sure if it is flannel or quilting cotton.  It does call for batting, which I’m thinking may make this a very warm and somewhat heavy quilt.

  • Connecting Threads has a free pattern you can download – Baby Nine Patch which is 46” square and would make a nice baby quilt or a wall hanging.

I like the suggested cutting diagrams and I’m thinking this would look stunning in two colors – maybe Red & White or even Patriotic with Red/White/Blue.

Thank you for visiting my blog.  I hope you’ve found something to add to your To Do List!

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Free Patterns, Friday Finds. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday Finds–3/13/2015

  1. Thank you for putting all these ‘finds’ together…I look forward to it every week! Sometimes I’ve already stumbled upon something you call out but more often than not it’s brand new to me.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

