The Week That Was–3/22/2015–Part 1

Boy, was this a week!  I was looking forward to a visit with a close friend I hadn’t seen in a while and attending her Spring Quilt Camp.  Surprise!  She lets me know that she had a family emergency and would I host the Quilt Camp for her.  Shock!!  I’ve been to a number and even help out here and there, but ME – Be in CHARGE!  But, of course, I said yes.

We exchanged texts and emails and phone calls. I had lots of notes of who, what, when, and where.  I loaded up my car and headed south.  The wonderful staff at the CrossPointe Conference Center in Christiansburg, VA, allowed me to check in a day early.

2015-03-17 17.00.11

I was able to check out the facilities, and talk with Katy, the event coordinator.

2015-03-17 17.05.26

I met some new friends, and picked up items I needed for Quilt Camp.  This was followed by set up time! Ironing Boards, Sewing Tables, Cutting Station and Welcome Table with gifts for the Campers and the Door Prizes!

SetUp-2015-03-18 15.15.15

My friend’s sister, Debra, joined me on Wednesday and we had dinner at Buffalo & More a few miles down the road.  According to the Virginian-Pilot, this is #9 in the 30 Top Places to Eat in Virginia before you Die! A great place with wonderful food and very special people.  A must place to eat when in Southwest Virginia!!

I had the Low-Carb Platter: Quarter pound buffalo patty topped with grilled onions and Provolone cheese served with a large salad, which was followed by a delicious coconut cake with the best, melt-in-your-mouth icing!  Yummy!

Thursday – Day #1 of Camp

Camp started at 10:00 AM.  As the ladies arrived, they set up their work stations, visited with other campers and then started stitching.

Oh! Did I mention that it SNOWED all day?  It was a very fine, but heavy snow for nearly all the day.  I couldn’t get a picture of it because the camera wouldn’t focus on just the snow.  It changed to sleet, freezing rain and fog during the evening.  But the ground was too warm so nothing accumulated. 

2015-03-19 15.34.17

Friday – Day #2 of Camp

The schedule for Day #2 was a day of stitching followed by shopping in Floyd, VA, Dinner at the Pine Tree Tavern and Foot-Stomping at the Jamboree.  Some ladies did shopping and dinner, but come back to camp to work on their projects.

Day2-2015-03-20 07.53.06

Saturday – Day #3 of Camp

On the schedule for today was Show ‘n Tell and lots of stitching!  I’ll post pictures later this week.

2015-03-21 20.09.05

Linda has been working hard on this Disappearing 9-Patch made from some old Feed Sack and Shirt material.  She found the 9-Patch blocks in a box she bought at auction and is now making a quilt.

Sunday – Camp comes to a Close.

It may have been the last day of Camp but several ladies came in early to get some last minute stitching done.

Then the clean up and packing.

2015-03-22 11.15.22

Thanks to Karen and all the ladies who helped make this Quilt Camp a success.  You all pitched in and understood that I was new at this.

But we cannot close out this summary of Camp without thanking a couple of special ladies – Katy, the event coordinator and all around helper, and Gwen, who provided some of the most wonderful meals!

DSCN1699

My apologies to my Facebook Friends as some pictures may have already been posted. This is a pretty full post, so later this week I’ll post pictures of some of the things I made.

Hope you had a wonderful week with lots of stitching & friends!

Happy Stitching!

Quilt Mouse

About Quiltmouse

I am retired. I love to quilt. I make charity quilts as well as quilts for my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Week That Was–3/22/2015–Part 1

  1. Pingback: The Month That Was–Summary March 2015 | QuiltMouse

  2. You are such an awesome friend to help me out! How can I ever thank you? Everyone said you did a great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. knitnkwilt says:

    Whew! Brave of you. Sounds like you did quite well.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your Comment with Me - Leave a Comment without Logging in click on "Change"

